Publication Date: 16/01/2020 ISBN: 9780571348213 Category:

Your House Will Pay

Steph Cha

Publisher: Faber & Faber
Publication Date: 16/01/2020 ISBN: 9780571348213 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£12.99

Quantity:

Description

Two families.
One desperate to remember, the other to forget.
Will the truth burn them both?

‘A wonderful, thoughtful and exciting debut that will stay with you.’ Nikesh Shukla
‘A smart, sensitive page-turner.’ Daily Telegraph

Grace Park and Shawn Mathews share a city, but seemingly little else. Coming from different generations and very different communities, their paths wouldn’t normally cross at all. As Grace battles confusion over her elder sister’s estrangement from their Korean-immigrant parents, Shawn tries to help his cousin Ray readjust to life on the outside after years spent in prison.

But something in their past links these two families. As the city around them threatens to spark into violence, echoing events from their past, the lives of Grace and Shawn are set to collide in ways which will change them all forever.

Beautifully written, and marked by its aching humanity as much as its growing sense of dread, Your House Will Pay is a powerful and moving family story, perfect for readers of Celeste Ng’s Little Fires Everywhere and Paul Beatty’s The Sellout.

What readers are saying:

‘Simultaneously thrilling and thoughtful… a terrific, fast-moving story of two characters trying to live with the truth.’

‘A must-read.’

‘This novel is wonderful… it will stick with you.’

‘Sensitive and astute, it’s a book we need right now, and it’s a book that lingers, offering plenty to think about.’

‘A smart, powerful, fully-engaged book that never once blinks or backs down or takes an easy out, and then nails one of the best endings I’ve ever read.’

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible