Publication Date: 05/11/2020 ISBN: 9781787302273 Category:

Without Ever Reaching the Summit

Paolo Cognetti

Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publication Date: 05/11/2020 ISBN: 9781787302273 Category:
Hardback

£10.99

Quantity:

Description

An awestruck love letter to one of the most spectacular places on earth, from the author of international bestseller The Eight Mountains.

Paolo Cognetti marked his 40th birthday with a journey he had always wanted to make: to Dolpo, a remote Himalayan region where Nepal meets Tibet. He took with him two friends, a notebook, mules and guides, and a well-worn copy of The Snow Leopard. Written in 1978, Matthiessen’s classic was also turning forty, and Cognetti set out to walk in the footsteps of the great adventurer.

Without Ever Reaching the Summit combines travel journal, secular pilgrimage, literary homage and sublime mountain writing in a short book for readers of Macfarlane, Rebanks and Cognetti’s own bestseller, The Eight Mountains. An investigation into the author’s physical limits, an ancient mountain culture, and the magnificence of nature, it is an awestruck love letter to one of the most spectacular places on earth.

‘A breath of fresh air for mountain-lovers currently in confinement…The sparse, graceful prose…reflects the barren landscape and the author’s joy in paring back the distractions of modern life’ Financial Times, Best Books of 2020

Publisher Review

A breath of fresh air for mountain-lovers currently in confinement, this slim, elegant account follows Cognetti's trek through the remote Dolpo region of northwestern Nepal... The sparse, graceful prose...reflects the barren landscape and the author's joy in paring back the distractions of modern life -- Tom Robbins * Financial Times, *Books of the Year* * Fresh and completely engaging ... [Cognetti] has a studied simplicity that is suggestive of a mountaineer's ascetic temperament and the writing also feels perfectly adjusted to the daunting character of Dolpo... [a] captivating travelogue -- Mark Cocker * Spectator *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible