Publication Date: 25/03/2021 ISBN: 9780349726250 Category:

Wine Girl

Victoria James

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publication Date: 25/03/2021 ISBN: 9780349726250 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£9.99


This book is scheduled to be published on 25/03/2021.
You can order it now and we'll ship it once available.
Quantity:

Description

‘Hugely entertaining’ Jay Rayner, Observer

‘Addictive’ Stylist

‘James does for wine what Anthony Bourdain did for the high-pressure, low-margin world of professional restaurants, exposing secrets kept from customers’ Financial Times

Aged twenty-one, Victoria was named the US’s youngest sommelier, working in Michelin-starred restaurants, serving the finest wines.

The groping patrons she learned to handle, but, behind the scenes, the world of high-end dining was a mess of fractious relationships and unacknowledged abuse. It would take hitting rock-bottom for Victoria to find her way back to the industry she adores.

Wine Girl is the memoir of a young woman breaking free from her traumatic childhood. It’s the story of overcoming a notoriously misogynistic business, and of the restorative power of a glass of wine with friends.

‘You’ll raise a glass to James’s extraordinary resilience’ Sunday Times

‘A must-read’ Daily Telegraph

Publisher Review

James puts her own career and reputation at risk for writing such a frank book. But it's also crystal clear that she cares passionately about the industry. This is not a pity party - it's written more for other women caught in the place she was. This is not revenge arson, wanting to see the whole show go up in flames - it is a clarion call for change * Jancisrobinson.com * This affecting, informative memoir is crucial reading for wine lovers, food lovers, and anyone thinking about making their way in the rough-and-tumble world of big-time restaurants -- Adam Platt, New York Magazine restaurant critic Sommelier Victoria James's deeply personal book is by turns harrowing and inspiring . . . From Wine Girl I learned as much about the resilience of the human spirit as I had about the wonders of wine. And turned the last page with a profound feeling of gratitude to Victoria for sharing her story and becoming a model for women everywhere -- Dana Cowin, former editor-in-chief of Food and Wine One can't help but root for James's hard-won success * Telegraph * In this gritty, eloquent memoir, James, who became America's youngest sommelier at twenty-one, talks about overcoming sexual assault and sexism as she built a career in the restaurant business . . . James grippingly discusses working at several high-end restaurants and wading through ugly swamps of unwanted advances and crude comments before finding a happy home at Michelin-starred Cote, where she is the beverage director. This is a captivating story of resilience from a sommelier who hustled hard to conquer her profession * Publishers Weekly * Just the light-yet-escapist read you're in the mood for, this memoir by sommelier Victoria James unpicks the institutional misogyny of the fine dining restaurant scene that's perfect for fans of Sweet Bitter and also reminds you of the nourishing joy of good food, good people and good wine * Stylist * An inspiring, captivating story of resilience * Kirkus Reviews * Wine Girl is funny, bracing, disturbing, and above all necessary. Victoria reveals the best and darkest in who we are and how we dine. I couldn't put it down -- Bianca Bosker, New York Times bestselling author of Cork Dork For anyone interested in food, or the dark underbelly and exhilarating fizz of restaurant life, Wine Girl is a page-turning read * the i * Need something quick and escapist? Sommelier Victoria James's memoir Wine Girl of her time in the toxic restaurant industry is addictive * Stylist * Wine Girl speaks to a new generation. This memoir is not an easy read. It is, yes, about discovering wine and becoming a sommelier, but also about a difficult upbringing . . . and gender politics, and sexual abuse and harassment in and around the "toxic world of fine dining" * Telegraph * A brilliantly Bourdain-ish tale of a young woman making her way through the sexist American fine-dining world. A glass of rich white burgundy, such as Christophe Cordier's, will enhance the experience of the chapter in which James deals hilariously with a chauvinistic mansplainer and a bottle of super-expensive white burgundy -- David Williams * Observer * Don't read this book without wine to hand. I glugged at the gossipy bits, sipped at the sad parts . . . In Wine Girl James spills all on Manhattan's fine-dining world . . . you'll raise a glass to her extraordinary resilience -- Laura Pullman * Sunday Times * James does for wine what Anthony Bourdain did for the high-pressure, low-margin world of professional restaurants, exposing secrets kept from customers . . . James offers a fresh lexicon for a young generation of "cork dorks" hungry to know and talk about wine . . . But James's story is edged with the darkness of her experience in hospitality . . . [her] story shows how precarious life on the knife-edge of survival in the restaurant industry really is. Almost unbelievably, she retained an abiding love for wine * Financial Times * Hugely entertaining -- Jay Rayner * Observer * An uplifting story of grit and resilience that will leave you with an appetite for the pleasures that James so vividly describes * Mail on Sunday *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible