Publication Date: 25/08/2016 ISBN: 9781473621251 Category:

Whose Body?

Dorothy L Sayers

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Publication Date: 25/08/2016 ISBN: 9781473621251 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£9.99

Quantity:

Description

The first book in Dorothy L Sayers’ classic Lord Peter Wimsey series introduced by crime writer Laura Wilson – a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie’s Poirot and Margery Allingham’s Campion Mysteries.

‘D. L. Sayers is one of the best detective story writers’ Daily Telegraph

It was the body of a tall stout man. On his dead face, a handsome pair of gold pince-nez mocked death with grotesque elegance.

The body wore nothing else.

Lord Peter Wimsey knew immediately what the corpse was supposed to be. His problem was to find out whose body had found its way into Mr Alfred Thipps’ Battersea bathroom.

‘She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.’ P. D. James

Publisher Review

She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit. * P. D. James * Sayers is one of the best detective story writers. -- E. C. Bentley * Daily Telegraph * I admire her novels . . . she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail. -- Ruth Rendell She combined literary prose with powerful suspense, and it takes a rare talent to achieve that. A truly great storyteller. -- Minette Walters

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible