Publication Date: 09/02/2017 ISBN: 9781408878859 Category:

We Come Apart

Sarah Crossan, Brian Conaghan

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publication Date: 09/02/2017 ISBN: 9781408878859 Category:
Hardback

£12.99

Quantity:

Description

YA rising stars Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan join forces to break readers’ hearts in this contemporary story of star-cross’d lovers.

Jess would never have looked twice at Nicu if her friends hadn’t left her in the lurch. Nicu is all big eyes and ill-fitting clothes, eager as a puppy, even when they’re picking up litter in the park for community service. He’s so not her type. Appearances matter to Jess. She’s got a lot to hide.

Nicu thinks Jess is beautiful. His dad brought Nicu and his mum here for a better life, but now all they talk about is going back home to find Nicu a wife. The last thing Nicu wants is to get married. He wants to get educated, do better, stay here in England. But his dad’s fists are the most powerful force in Nicu’s life, and in the end, he’ll have to do what his dad wants.

As Nicu and Jess get closer, their secrets come to the surface like bruises. The only safe place they have is with each other. But they can’t be together, forever, and stay safe – can they?

An extraordinary, high-impact, high-emotion collaboration between two Carnegie honoured rising stars of YA. Perfect for fans of Patrick Ness, Malorie Blackman, Rainbow Rowell and John Green.

Sarah Crossan received the 2016 CILIP Carnegie Medal for her astonishing novel One, which also won the YA Book Prize,CBI Book of the Year Award and the CliPPA Poetry Award. Brian Conaghan’s powerful debut, When Mr Dog Bites, was shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal, Peters Book of the Year and CBI Book of the Year Award.

Publisher Review

This is a strikingly brave, sensitive and unusual book that pack such a powerful emotional punch, I defy anyone not to weep at the end Praise for ONE: Daily Mail Beautifully observed and hilariously uncomfortable Praise for WHEN MR DOG BITES: Guardian One of the most powerful as well as the most unusual novels of the year Praise for ONE: Independent on Sunday Read, think, enjoy and weep, because the novel is quite simply an achingly sad and beautiful story about what makes any of us human Praise for ONE: Telegraph This is a portrayal of young male bonding, complete with all the lively banter of true camaraderies, at its most tender and affectionate Praise for WHEN MR DOG BITES: Irish Times An outstanding debut, packed with energy and a brilliant distinctive voice Praise for WHEN MR DOG BITES: Bookseller Surprising and charming Praise for WHEN MR DOG BITES: Observer

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible