Publication Date: 23/08/2018 ISBN: 9780008300630 Category:

Vox

Christina Dalcher

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication Date: 23/08/2018 ISBN: 9780008300630 Category:
Hardback

£12.99

Out of stock

Description

‘This book will blow your mind’ PRIMA
‘Disturbing’ LEE CHILD

‘A petrifying reimagining of The Handmaid’s Tale’ ELLE

‘Left me speechless’ DAILY MAIL

‘Terrifying’ RED

‘A novel ripe for the #MeToo era’ VANITY FAIR

‘Extraordinary’ LOUISE O’NEILL

‘The book of the moment!’ MARIE CLAIRE’

A dazzling debut’ GOOD HOUSEKEEPING

‘Truly compulsive’ STYLIST

‘Thrilling. I was left speechless’ WOMAN & HOME

‘Set to dominate dinner party chats’ COSMOPOLITAN

‘Terrifying in its relevance’ GRAZIA

‘The Handmaid’s Tale 2.0’ EVENING STANDARD

Silence can be deafening.
Jean McClellan spends her time in almost complete silence, limited to just one hundred words a day. Any more, and a thousand volts of electricity will course through her veins.

Now the new government is in power, everything has changed. But only if you’re a woman.

Almost overnight, bank accounts are frozen, passports are taken away and seventy million women lose their jobs. Even more terrifyingly, young girls are no longer taught to read or write.

For herself, her daughter, and for every woman silenced, Jean will reclaim her voice. This is only the beginning…

[100 WORD LIMIT REACHED]

Publisher Review

`A petrifying re-imagining of The Handmaid's Tale in the present, and a timely reminder of the power and importance of language.' Marta Bausells, ELLE `This book will blow your mind. PRIMA `VOX is intelligent, suspenseful, provocative, and intensely disturbing - everything a great novel should be.' LEE CHILD `I can't remember the last time I read a book quite this thrilling. VOX is, like all the best dystopian novels, razor sharp and terrifyingly plausible. It is extraordinary.' LOUISE O'NEILL `A bold, brilliant and unforgettable debut.' ALICE FEENEY `A truly compulsive novel.' STYLIST `Thought-provoking and thrilling. I was left speechless!' WOMAN & HOME `A novel ripe for the era of #MeToo.' VANITY FAIR `A dazzling debut.' GOOD HOUSEKEEPING `VOX is shaping up to be one of my favourite novels of the year!' STYLIST `Any woman who has ever been shamed into silence will recognise the terrifying vista so vividly portrayed in VOX' ROISIN INGLE, The Irish Times Women's Podcast `A dark dystopia...The Handmaid 2.0.' EVENING STANDARD `Thought-provoking and set to dominate dinner party chats.' COSMOPOLITAN `If you liked Atwood's novel and Naomi Alderman's The Power, I guarantee you will love this.' THE POOL `Electrifying.' O, The Oprah Magazine `My favourite book of the year so far...' LISA HALL `VOX has the sort of premise that immediately sets it apart.' IRISH INDEPENDENT `The book of the moment!' MARIE CLAIRE `The aftershocks of #MeToo have crept into publishing... For fans of Red Clocks, The Power and The Handmaid's Tale'. SUNDAY TIMES STYLE `A thought-provoking read on the importance of communication in our relationships, the role we play in the world and our freedom.' PSYCHOLOGIES

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible