Publication Date: 20/07/2017 ISBN: 9781849765275 Category:

Turner’s Sketchbooks

Ian Warrell

Publisher: Tate Publishing
Publication Date: 20/07/2017 ISBN: 9781849765275 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£19.99

Quantity:

Description

The first book to survey the full range of J.M.W. Turner’s extraordinary sketchbooks, beginning with his teenage explorations and culminating in the masterful colour studies of his later years.

J.M.W. Turner’s sketchbooks provide us with a rare opportunity to witness the work processes of an artist of unparalleled importance. They give us a privileged look over Turner’s shoulder, allowing us to witness the creation and development of ideas that can be traced through to his most famous paintings. In the absence of detailed written accounts of his extensive travels, the notebooks are also a record of his impressions of the many places he visited across Britain and Europe, and of his life.

Publisher Review

'Turner's Sketchbooks is the first single volume devoted to the visual notes that he made obsessively for 62 years. Sketches range from the fragmentary scribble that became Rain, Steam and Speed to miniature masterpieces. Perfect for fans of Mr Turner.' - The Independent

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible