Publication Date: 30/01/2014 ISBN: 9780099558569 Category:

Tomorrow There Will be Apricots

Jessica Soffer

Publisher: Cornerstone
Publication Date: 30/01/2014 ISBN: 9780099558569 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£12.99

Quantity:

Description

A heartbreaking debut about family, love, grief and food. Perfect for fans of Joanne Harris’ Chocolat and Julia Powell’s Julie & Julia.

Victoria, eighty and recently bereaved, is lonely and needs to find a way to reconnect with the world. When she starts teaching cooking classes she doesn’t expect Lorca, a troubled teenager, to be her first pupil. Lorca is desperate to find a way into her mother’s affections and as a last attempt decides to track down the recipe for her ideal meal, an obscure Middle Eastern dish called masgouf.

As Lorca and Victoria form an unexpected bond over almond and pistachio cookies and baklava, they begin to suspect they are connected in more ways than just their love of food.

Publisher Review

A work of beauty in word ... Ms. Soffer is a master artist painting the hidden hues of the human soul. Tomorrow There Will Be Apricots is an intelligent work in the vein of Azar Nafisi where the humanity of the characters transcends cultural or national differences and illustrates commonalities. * New York Journal of Books * Delicate and impressive ... Soffer's style is natural and assured whether she's writing about adolescent longings, adult sorrow, or the seemingly endless and sometimes thankless desire to please one's parent. -- Meg Wolitzer, author of The Position and The Uncoupling Soffer's breathtaking prose interweaves delectable descriptions of food with a profoundly redemptive story about loss, self-discovery, and acceptance. * O: The Oprah Magazine * This beautiful, beautiful book calls to mind The Elegance of the Hedgehog, for its artistry and heart, and for its two unlikely soul mates-one old, one young, both harboring private grief, shaping their lives around what is missing, looking for families fate has denied them. I dare anyone to barricade their heart against this enchanting novel. -- Stephanie Kallos, author of BROKEN FOR YOU AND SING THEM HOME A profound and necessary new voice. Soffer's prose is as controlled as it is fresh, as incisive as it is musical. Soffer has arrived early, with an orchestra of talent at her disposal. -- Colum McCann

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible