Publication Date: 31/12/2015 ISBN: 9780008156312 Category:

Time Travelling with a Hamster

Ross Welford

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication Date: 31/12/2015 ISBN: 9780008156312 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£6.99

Quantity:

Description

For readers who loved Wonder and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time this extraordinary debut will make you laugh and cry.

A story that crosses time and generations, for adventure-loving readers young and old.

“My dad died twice. Once when he was thirty nine and again four years later when he was twelve.”

On Al Chaudhury’s twelfth birthday his beloved Grandpa Byron gives him a letter from Al’s late father. In it Al receives a mission: travel back to 1984 in a secret time machine and save his father’s life.

Al soon discovers that time travel requires daring and imagination. It also requires lies, theft, setting his school on fire and ignoring philosophical advice from Grandpa Byron. All without losing his pet hamster, Alan Shearer…

Time Travelling With a Hamster is a funny, heart-warming race-against-time – and across generations – adventure that you will won’t be able to put down.

Publisher Review

`The gripping suspense truly makes time fly... the book's heart and humour are hard to resist.' Piers Torday, author of The Last Wild "Extremely clever and totally engaging." The Irish Times "Intelligent, well crafted and impressive." Nicolette Jones, The Sunday Times `Touching, silly and exciting by turns, this thrilling little book is an inventive take on time travel for children. Sure to be a hit with fans of R.J. Palacio's Wonder... an unforgettable, madcap story from a bright new talent in Children's fiction.' Waterstones "A touching tale of family, grief and love." Daily Express `With intriguing twists from start to finish, this story is a real roller coaster of emotions. It warmed my heart and filled my head with wonder! A fast, funny and really satisfying read that sparks your imagination.' Joseph, 10

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible