Publication Date: 02/11/2017 ISBN: 9780141379272 Category:

This Mortal Coil

Emily Suvada

Publisher: Penguin Random House Children's UK
Publication Date: 02/11/2017 ISBN: 9780141379272 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£7.99

Quantity:

Description

*Shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize 2018*

A must read for fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent and The Maze Runner.

3 billion lives at stake. 2 people who can save them. 1 secret hidden in their DNA.

A breathtaking debut series about one girl’s quest for answers in a genetically and technologically advanced future.

—–

When a lone soldier, Cole, arrives with news of Lachlan Agatta’s death, all hope seems lost for Catarina.

Her father was the world’s leading geneticist, and humanity’s best hope of beating a devastating virus.

Then, hidden beneath Cole’s genehacked enhancements she finds a message of hope: Lachlan created a vaccine.

Only she can find and decrypt it, if she can unravel the clues he left for her. The closer she gets, the more she finds herself at risk from Cartaxus, a shadowy organization with a stranglehold on the world’s genetic tech. But it’s too late to turn back.

As the pieces fit together it’s clear there is one final secret that Cat must unlock. A secret that will change everything.

With the pace and twists of a thriller, an emotional sucker-punch, the exquisite world-building of the best fantasy, and an imagined future that sci-fi fans will love, THIS MORTAL COIL has all the ingredients to become the next phenomenon in YA thrillers.

‘With a backdrop of amazing science and technology, This Mortal Coil is a smart, page-turning thriller that gave me chills. I couldn’t put this book down.’ – Laini Taylor, bestselling author of Daughter of Smoke and Bone.

‘I can’t remember the last time I was so hooked by a book. Relentlessly paced, expertly plotted, and with a romance as tense and as captivating as her wicked twists, Emily Suvada has crafted an unputdownable story. I loved every terrifying page.’ – Stephanie Garber, bestselling author of Caraval.

‘This Mortal Coil redefines “unputdownable.” A thrilling, exhilarating read that’s crackling with intelligence. Compelling characters and and incredible twists come together perfectly – I loved this book.’ – Amie Kaufman, bestselling author of Illuminae.

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible