Publication Date: 08/06/2021 ISBN: 9781529100730 Category:

The Wolf and the Woodsman

Ava Reid

Publisher: Cornerstone
Publication Date: 08/06/2021 ISBN: 9781529100730 Category:
Hardback

£14.99

Quantity:

Description

A dark, evocative and unforgettable fantasy debut steeped in Hungarian history and Jewish mythology, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Katherine Arden.

‘Rooted in history and myth, The Wolf and the Woodsman is a stunning debut . . . It will twine like a dark forest around your heart.’ Samantha Shannon, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Priory of the Orange Tree
______________________________________
Stories don’t have to be true to be real…

In her forest-veiled pagan village, Evike is the only woman without power, making her an outcast clearly abandoned by the gods. When soldiers arrive from the Holy Order of Woodsmen to claim a pagan girl for the king’s blood sacrifice, Evike is betrayed by her fellow villagers and surrendered.

But when monsters attack the Woodsmen and their captive en route, slaughtering everyone but Evike and the cold, one-eyed captain, they have no choice but to rely on each other. Except he’s no ordinary Woodsman – he’s the disgraced prince, Gaspar Barany, whose father needs pagan magic to consolidate his power. Gaspar fears that his cruelly zealous brother plans to seize the throne and instigate a violent reign that would damn the pagans and the Yehuli alike. As the son of a reviled foreign queen, Gaspar understands what it’s like to be an outcast, and he and Evike make a tenuous pact to stop his brother.

As their mission takes them from the bitter northern tundra to the smog-choked capital, their mutual loathing slowly turns to affection, bound by a shared history of alienation and oppression. However, trust can easily turn to betrayal, and as Evike reconnects with her estranged father and discovers her own hidden magic, she and Gaspar need to decide whose side they’re on, and what they’re willing to give up for a nation that never cared for them at all.
______________________________________
‘Gorgeously written and grimly real, The Wolf and the Woodsman quite literally took my breath away. It has the unsettling-but-compelling gore of Henderson’s The Year of the Witching, the folkloric lilt of The Bear and the Nightingale, and the moral complexity of Seeing Like a State. I’m obsessed.’ Alex E. Harrow, Hugo-award winning author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January

‘Assured and compelling throughout, and the worldbuilding is richly imagined, densely textured, and endlessly delightful.’ Katherine Addison, author of The Goblin Emperor

‘Reid has crafted a story that is not only relevant for our times, but has timelessness about it that truly makes it shine. The Wolf and the Woodsman is not a book I will soon forget.’ Genevieve Gornichec, author of The Witch’s Heart

‘Combining religion, magic, and evocative language, Ava Reid has created a daring fantasy world full of imagination and fierce heroics’ Luanne G. Smith, bestselling author of The Vine Witch

‘The Wolf and The Woodsman is one hell of a ride. I couldn’t put it down.’ Greta Kelly, author of The Frozen Crown

‘One of those transportative, delicious books that completely engrossed me for a full day.’ Samantha Rajaram, Author of The Company Daughters

Publisher Review

Rooted in history and myth, The Wolf and the Woodsman is a stunning debut - a powerful and haunting tale of a young woman's will to live, of love flowering in defiance of tyranny. It will twine like a dark forest around your heart. * Samantha Shannon, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Priory of the Orange Tree * A thought-provoking, thrilling magical twist on the history of religion and politics that I couldn't put down. In her stunningly rendered - and frankly terrifying - forbidden forests, Reid conjures up some of the ghastliest monsters I've ever read, and yet never lets us forget the worst horrors are perpetuated by human hands. * S.A. Chakraborty, bestselling author of The Empire of Gold * Gorgeously written and grimly real, The Wolf and the Woodsman is a bloody fable about two people caught in the jaws of history. It quite literally took my breath away. It has the unsettling-but-compelling gore of Henderson's The Year of the Witching, the folkloric lilt of The Bear and the Nightingale, and the moral complexity of Seeing Like a State. I'm obsessed. * Alix E. Harrow, Hugo-award winning author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January * Beautiful and gut wrenching . . . It's a fundamentally Jewish tale that gripped me from beginning to end. A riveting debut that will keep you up all night, desperately chasing the heart-pounding conclusion. * Victoria Lee, author of The Fever King * The Wolf and the Woodsman, beautifully written and expertly told, is a darkly magical tale from beginning to end. I was equal parts terrified and delighted, somehow swept away and grounded in a world as beautiful as it is deadly. * Isabel Ibanez, author of Woven in Moonlight * Evike may be the only one in her village without 'powers,' but that doesn't stop her from being an in-your-face heroine who stands up for the things she believes in and never backs down. Reid has crafted a story that is not only relevant for our times, but has timelessness about it that truly makes it shine. The Wolf and the Woodsman is not a book I will soon forget. * Genevieve Gornichec, author of The Witch's Heart * Combining religion, magic, and evocative language, Ava Reid has created a daring fantasy world full of imagination and fierce heroics. * Luanne G. Smith, bestselling author of The Vine Witch * I enjoyed The Wolf and the Woodsman very much. Evike is a memorable protagonist, deeply flawed but trying, almost despite herself, to do the right thing. The writing is assured and compelling throughout, and the worldbuilding is richly imagined, densely textured, and endlessly delightful. * Katherine Addison, author of The Goblin Emperor * The Wolf and The Woodsman is one hell of a ride. Evike is an unlikely heroine, torn by warring duties and identities but despite it all, she discovers a power that could save a nation from itself. But only if she lives. I couldn't put it down. * Greta Kelly, author of The Frozen Crown * One of those transportative, delicious books that completely engrossed me for a full day. * Samantha Rajaram, Author of The Company Daughters *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible