Publication Date: 08/06/2021 ISBN: 9781529100730 Category:

The Wolf and the Woodsman

Ava Reid

Publisher: Cornerstone
Publication Date: 08/06/2021 ISBN: 9781529100730 Category:
Hardback

£14.99

Out of stock

Description

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

A dark, evocative and unforgettable fantasy debut steeped in Hungarian history and Jewish mythology, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Katherine Arden.

‘Rooted in history and myth, The Wolf and the Woodsman is a stunning debut . . . It will twine like a dark forest around your heart.’ Samantha Shannon, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Priory of the Orange Tree
______________________________________
A spirited outcast. A disgraced prince.
A world where monsters roam free.

In her forest-veiled pagan village, Evike is the only woman without power. So when soldiers from the Holy Order of Woodsmen arrive to claim a girl for their king’s blood sacrifice, the villagers only have one person to offer up.

But when they are attacked en-route to the capital, and everyone but Evike and a lone Woodsman are slaughtered, they have no choice but to rely on each other. Except he’s no ordinary Woodsman – he’s the disgraced prince, Gaspar Barany, whose father needs pagan magic to consolidate his power.

As they travel from the bitter northern tundra to the smog-choked capital, they form a tenuous pact that slowly turns their loathing turns to affection. But trust is easily betrayed, and as Evike discovers her own hidden magic, she and Gaspar must decide where their loyalties really lie . . .
______________________________________
‘Entertaining, appealing, and strikingly imagined’ Tor.com

‘An intricate, gut-wrenching fantasy that will set the bar for dark historical fantasy for years to come.’ The Book Report

‘Gorgeously written and grimly real’ Alix Harrow

‘A grown-up, complicated, angsty, sexy, dark book’ Cultured Vulture

‘Richly imagined, densely textured, and endlessly delightful’ Katherine Addison

‘A powerful feminist story about acceptance, The Wolf and the Woodsman is perfect for fans of The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden’ British Fantasy Society

Publisher Review

Rooted in history and myth, The Wolf and the Woodsman is a stunning debut - a powerful and haunting tale of a young woman's will to live, of love flowering in defiance of tyranny. It will twine like a dark forest around your heart. * Samantha Shannon, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Priory of the Orange Tree * A thought-provoking, thrilling magical twist on the history of religion and politics that I couldn't put down. In her stunningly rendered - and frankly terrifying - forbidden forests, Reid conjures up some of the ghastliest monsters I've ever read, and yet never lets us forget the worst horrors are perpetuated by human hands. * S.A. Chakraborty, bestselling author of The Empire of Gold * Gorgeously written and grimly real, The Wolf and the Woodsman is a bloody fable about two people caught in the jaws of history. It quite literally took my breath away. It has the unsettling-but-compelling gore of Henderson's The Year of the Witching, the folkloric lilt of The Bear and the Nightingale, and the moral complexity of Seeing Like a State. I'm obsessed. * Alix E. Harrow, Hugo-award winning author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January * Beautiful and gut wrenching . . . It's a fundamentally Jewish tale that gripped me from beginning to end. A riveting debut that will keep you up all night, desperately chasing the heart-pounding conclusion. * Victoria Lee, author of The Fever King * The Wolf and the Woodsman, beautifully written and expertly told, is a darkly magical tale from beginning to end. I was equal parts terrified and delighted, somehow swept away and grounded in a world as beautiful as it is deadly. * Isabel Ibanez, author of Woven in Moonlight * Evike may be the only one in her village without 'powers,' but that doesn't stop her from being an in-your-face heroine who stands up for the things she believes in and never backs down. Reid has crafted a story that is not only relevant for our times, but has timelessness about it that truly makes it shine. The Wolf and the Woodsman is not a book I will soon forget. * Genevieve Gornichec, author of The Witch's Heart * Combining religion, magic, and evocative language, Ava Reid has created a daring fantasy world full of imagination and fierce heroics. * Luanne G. Smith, bestselling author of The Vine Witch * I enjoyed The Wolf and the Woodsman very much. Evike is a memorable protagonist, deeply flawed but trying, almost despite herself, to do the right thing. The writing is assured and compelling throughout, and the worldbuilding is richly imagined, densely textured, and endlessly delightful. * Katherine Addison, author of The Goblin Emperor * The Wolf and The Woodsman is one hell of a ride. Evike is an unlikely heroine, torn by warring duties and identities but despite it all, she discovers a power that could save a nation from itself. But only if she lives. I couldn't put it down. * Greta Kelly, author of The Frozen Crown * One of those transportative, delicious books that completely engrossed me for a full day. * Samantha Rajaram, Author of The Company Daughters *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible