Publication Date: 15/10/2020 ISBN: 9781405930635 Category:

The Winter Agent

Gareth Rubin

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Publication Date: 15/10/2020 ISBN: 9781405930635 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

THE GRIPPING WWII ESPIONAGE THRILLER ABOUT SURVIVAL, TRUST AND A DEADLY BATTLE FOR THE TRUTH . . .

‘Races along, with plenty of surprises’ Times

February, 1944.

A bitter winter grips occupied France, where Marc Reece leads a circuit of British agents risking their lives in order to sabotage the German war effort from within.

But Reece has a second mission, secret even from his fellow agents – including Charlotte, the woman with whom he has ill-advisedly fallen in love. He must secure a document identifying a German spy at the heart of British intelligence. The fate of the Allied forces on D-Day is in his hands.

But when his circuit is ambushed – with fatal consequences – Reece realizes there may be a traitor in its ranks, putting everything they’ve been fighting for at risk.

Then Charlotte goes missing.

Is she in danger, or has Reece been betrayed by the only person he thought he could trust?

And with the clock ticking towards D-Day, can he find the truth before it’s too late?

A gripping and atmospheric thriller inspired by true events, this is the story of a deadly game of espionage, destined to change the course of the most crucial battle in the Second World War.

‘Exhaustively researched, superbly realised, The Winter Agent is a superior SOE novel. Gareth Rubin really knows his stuff and it shows on every page’ Howard Linskey

‘Smart, stylish, meticulously researched. Rich in loyalty and double dealing, captures perfectly the horror and heroism, delivered at a cracking pace’ Sun

‘Brilliant. Blends meticulously researched history with a plot of double-crossing and deception’ Best

Publisher Review

In the great tradition of SS-GB and Fatherland, Rubin's alternative-1950s murder mystery takes an ingenious premise - the Americans and the Soviets have carved up Britain between them after rescuing the country from the Nazis - and makes it come alive through sheer storytelling skill * Jake Kerridge * A gripping murder mystery set in an alternative 1950s Britain. Rubin's London, split between American and Soviet zones after a disastrous World War Two, is vividly realised and his story is elegantly constructed. One not to miss * William Ryan, author of The Constant Soldier * Rubin constructs a tantalising alternative world with 1950s Britain riven apart by its own version of the Berlin Wall - and all because the D-Day landings failed. Against this dystopian nightmare, the author overlays a murder mystery that's sure to appeal to fans of SS-GB, The Man in the High Castle, and Fatherland * David Young, CWA Dagger-winning author of Stasi Child * A twisting murder mystery combined with a chillingly plausible alternative history of a divided Cold War London. Brilliant * Mason Cross, Richard and Judy bestselling author of The Samaritan * A tight and compelling thriller * SFX * Gripping * i * An interesting take on the 'What if we'd lost World War II?' debate. A gripping and well-imagined yarn * Sun * An authentic and chilling tale * Sun * (A) richly imagined thriller . . . Tightly plotted, tense and set in a chillingly plausible world * Sunday Mirror * Far more than an intellectual exercise - it is a gripping story, with heart * Daily Telegraph, Best Thrillers of the Year * Praise for Liberation Square * - * Brilliant. Blends meticulously researched history with a plot of double-crossing and deception * Best * Races along, with plenty of surprises * Times * Smart, stylish, meticulously researched. Rich in loyalty and double dealing, captures perfectly the horror and heroism, delivered at a cracking pace * Sun * Exhaustively researched, superbly realised, The Winter Agent is a superior SOE novel. Gareth Rubin really knows his stuff and it shows on every page * Howard Linskey *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible