Special
Price
Publication Date: 01/07/2020 ISBN: 9781526616289 Category:

The Wild Way Home

Sophie Kirtley

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publication Date: 01/07/2020 ISBN: 9781526616289 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£6.99 £6.29

Quantity:

Description

‘So good I read it twice’ – Hilary McKay, author of The Skylarks’ War

‘This thrilling time-slip adventure oozes magic and heart’ – Bookseller EDITOR’S CHOICE

When Charlie’s longed-for brother is born with a serious heart condition, Charlie’s world is turned upside down. Upset and afraid, Charlie flees the hospital and makes for the ancient forest on the edge of town. There Charlie finds a boy floating face-down in the stream, injured, but alive. But when Charlie sets off back to the hospital to fetch help, it seems the forest has changed. It’s become a place as strange and wild as the boy dressed in deerskins. For Charlie has unwittingly fled into the Stone Age, with no way to help the boy or return to the present day. Or is there?

What follows is a wild, big-hearted adventure as Charlie and the Stone Age boy set out together to find what they have lost – their courage, their hope, their family and their way home.

Fans of Piers Torday and Stig of the Dump will love this wild, wise and heartfelt debut adventure.

Publisher Review

This thrilling time-slip adventure oozes magic and heart * Bookseller EDITOR’S CHOICE * So good I read it twice * Hilary McKay, author of The Skylarks’ War * I loved this unique quirky story full of heart * Jasbinder Bilan, author of Asha and the Spirit Bird * Delivers in spades. It made me laugh, cry, gasp and turn the pages for one more chapter every time I had to stop * Nizrana Farook, author of The Girl Who Stole an Elephant * With echoes of Skellig, this story is so smoothly told I barely stopped. A really powerful debut and definitely a must in every school library * Fleur Hitchcock for Waterstones Bookseller Reviews * Reminiscent of Skellig and Stig of the Dump, The Wild Way Home is a lovely time-slip adventure full of heart, family and finding your feet when times are tough * Anna Fargher, author of Umbrella Mouse * An exciting debut that takes us on a timeslip adventure into the deep past, where survival is at the point of a spear and family is the only thing you have to hold onto * A.F. Harrold * Gorgeously magical and achingly real. I loved every character in this book and I devoured the whole story in a breathless rush because I couldn’t stop reading (even when it made me cry) * Stephanie Burgis, author of The Dragon With a Chocolate Heart * A beautiful story of things ancient and eternal. Kirtley convincingly creates and navigates the difficult landscapes of both Stone Age Ireland and contemporary family life in this big-hearted, gripping debut. * Kelly McCaughrain * A tense, emotionally charged time-slip story … deeply moving and at times heart-breaking. Coming soon and eminently worth the wait * Irish Examiner * It is a heart-warming, magical book that has family, friendship and overcoming difficulties at its core. I couldn’t put it down! * NetGalley user * A captivating story of self-discovery and realising what is truly important in life * Scope For Imagination * Perfect for an UKS2 Stone Age topic, or for a nature or history lover, this world was immersive and believable and characters, settings and plot line were written with extraordinary attention to detail. Beautiful! * NetGalley Reviewer *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible