Publication Date: 30/05/2019 ISBN: 9781408884911 Category:

The Wickerlight

Mary Watson

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publication Date: 30/05/2019 ISBN: 9781408884911 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£7.99

Quantity:

Description

An eerie, magical thriller from the author of The Wren Hunt, perfect for fans of Frances Hardinge and Emily Bain Murphy’s The Disappearances

Zara’s family moved to Kilshamble for a new beginning. But everything changed the night her sister was found dead on the village green.

Two months later, Laila’s death is a riddle that nobody wants solved. Where were her injuries? Why was she so obsessed with local folklore? And what does all this have to do with David, the boy who lives at the big house?

As Zara delves deeper into her sister’s secret life, she becomes entangled in an ancient magical feud. All too unwittingly she is treading the same dangerous path that led Laila to the village green …

Publisher Review

The most superb collection of character and fantasy and love and landscape I have read since Phillip Pullman's Northern Lights * Hilary McKay on The Wren Hunt * A modern-day fairytale ... Throwing romance, magical visions and gruesome rituals into the pot, this is a thrilling and otherworldly depiction on Irish Culture * Sunday Times Magazine on THE WREN HUNT * Beautiful, eerie, dark and dreamy ... An absolutely stunning mix of myth and legend and family saga. I haven't stopped thinking about it * Melinda Salisbury on THE WREN HUNT * The tentacles of this story reach deep into Ireland's mythological past, in a haunting tale ... The story is riveting, set in a modern country town but at all times laced with reminders of more violent but intriguing times * Irish Examiner on THE WREN HUNT * There's a heady mix of the real and the magical in The Wren Hunt and I completely fell under its spell. A clever, wonderful, evocative novel, and I don't have a single, even lukewarm, criticism to make * Jill Murphy in The Bookbag on THE WREN HUNT *

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible