Publication Date: 08/07/2021 ISBN: 9780241442517 Category:

The Way Back

Gavriel Savit

Publisher: Penguin Random House Children's UK
Publication Date: 08/07/2021 ISBN: 9780241442517 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£7.99


This book is scheduled to be published on 08/07/2021.
You can order it now and we'll ship it once available.
Quantity:

Description

A US National Book Award Finalist: the new fantasy novel from the author of the acclaimed crossover novel Anna and the Swallow Man. A story for fans of Neil Gaiman, Philip Pullman and The Book Thief.
‘As timeless as a fairy tale’ – New York Times

‘Steeped in the rich traditions of ghost stories and Jewish folklore, this remarkable feat of storytelling is sure to delight’ – Kirkus Reviews

For the Jews of Eastern Europe, demons are everywhere. Talk of them is endless. The fear they summon is real.
Bluma and Yehuda Leib, two young people from the little shetl of Tupik, know mostly of demons through stories – these, and the occasional shiver down the back of their necks. Until one night when they unexpectedly encounter the Dark One – Death – an encounter which sends them spinning off on a journey in search of something they have both lost.
Theirs is a journey that will change everyhting. It will take them through the cemetery of Tupik and into the Far Country, the demon land filled with the souls of the dead. It will see them make pacts with demons and declare war on Death itself.
But can they possibly find their way back . . . ?

Publisher Review

Feels as timeless as a fairy tale * New York Times * Set in a frigid and arcane 19th century winter, The Way Back blends Jewish demonology with a fairytale past to create a beautiful tale of mysticism, mystery, and just one low-key little war against the Angel of Death. * Hypable * A bewitching allegorical adventure comprised of small, beautifully composed moments. * Publishers Weekly, starred review * Steeped in the rich traditions of ghost stories and Jewish folklore, this remarkable feat of storytelling is sure to delight. * Kirkus Reviews,starred review * This work of prodigious imagination is especially notable in its author's uncanny ability to create a visceral suspense that captures readers' attention and won't let go as the pages fly by * Booklist, starred review *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible