Publication Date: 12/05/2022 ISBN: 9781801102148 Category:

The Watchers

A.M. Shine

Publisher: Head of Zeus
Publication Date: 12/05/2022 ISBN: 9781801102148 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

A spine-chilling Irish horror adventure set in the remote and sinister forests of Ireland, from debut Irish author A.M. Shine. ‘A dark, claustrophobic read’ T. Kingfisher, author of Paladin’s Grace

You can’t see them. But they can see you. This forest isn’t charted on any map. Every car breaks down at its treeline. Mina’s is no different. Left stranded, she is forced into the dark woodland only to find a woman shouting, urging Mina to run to a concrete bunker. As the door slams behind her, the building is besieged by screams.

Mina finds herself in a room with a wall of glass, and an electric light that activates at nightfall, when the Watchers come above ground. These creatures emerge to observe their captive humans and terrible things happen to anyone who doesn’t reach the bunker in time.

Afraid and trapped among strangers, Mina is desperate for answers. Who are the Watchers and why are these creatures keeping them imprisoned, keen to watch their every move?

‘Readers get an intimate glimpse into the fraying edges of each character’s psyches, the constant hunger, the paranoia, the loss of hope, and far worse… A combination of supernatural and psychological horror, The Watchers will appeal to fans of Kealan Patrick Burke, Josh Malerman, and Scott Smith’ A.E. Siraki, Booklist

Publisher Review

'A dark, claustrophobic read' -- T. Kingfisher 'Readers get an intimate glimpse into the fraying edges of each character's psyches, the constant hunger, the paranoia, the loss of hope, and far worse... A combination of supernatural and psychological horror, The Watchers will appeal to fans of Kealan Patrick Burke, Josh Malerman, and Scott Smith' -- A.E. Siraki, Booklist 'This book has such atmosphere, and creepiness, and is an ideal read for the Halloween season, or any time you want some spookiness in your life!' * Beauty and Lace * 'Intense and thrilling, The Watchers is a great debut and solid addition to the survival horror sub-genre' * Read By Dusk * 'A brisk, at times scary but thoroughly enjoyable read' * Bloody Flicks * 'A clever, highly original story beautifully written' * The Untidy Bookshelf * 'The Watchers was a punch to the jugular... The author pulled out the rug from under me on more than one occasion. A must-read for the spooky season!' * The Coy Caterpillar Reads *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible