Special
Price
Publication Date: 20/09/2018 ISBN: 9781785036354 Category:
Featured in Mr B's 2018 Christmas Catalogue

The Toymakers

Robert Dinsdale

Publisher: Ebury Publishing
Publication Date: 20/09/2018 ISBN: 9781785036354 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99 £8.09

Quantity:

Mr B's review

Mr B’s Christmas Catalogue Review 2018

Welcome to Papa Jack’s Emporium, open at the first sign of frost each year. Feast your eyes on the wonders of this magical toyshop hidden in the depths of London, where the impossible is made possible, and not everything is quite as it seems. It is 1917 and Cathy Wray is sixteen and pregnant when she seeks refuge in her new-found employment at the toyshop, casting her into the midst of old family feuds and a world of magic she never knew existed. Perfect for fans of ‘The Night Circus’, and the ultimate Christmas read!

Description

Do you remember when you believed in magic?

An enchanting, magical novel set in a mysterious toyshop – perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus and Stephanie Garber’s Caraval by way of Jessie Burton’s The Miniaturist

It is 1917, and while war wages across Europe, in the heart of London, there is a place of hope and enchantment.

The Emporium sells toys that capture the imagination of children and adults alike: patchwork dogs that seem alive, toy boxes that are bigger on the inside, soldiers that can fight battles of their own. Into this family business comes young Cathy Wray, running away from a shameful past. The Emporium takes her in, makes her one of its own.

But Cathy is about to discover that the Emporium has secrets of its own…

‘engaging and enchanting … a fairytale for adults, with all the wonder – and terror – that that entails…it is the sense of joy that lingers in this fine book.’ The Observer

An EBook Number 1 bestseller with over 100 5* reviews – readers are enchanted by this magic tale:

‘If you only buy one book this year – buy this one’

‘As if Terry Pratchett has come back to life Disney Toy Story style’

‘Best book I’ve read for many years’

‘A book to lose yourself in’

Publisher Review

“There is magic at the heart of The Toymakers, a glittery inventiveness that shimmers through the dark corners of a story about love, war and sibling rivalry…Robert Dinsdale’s imagined toys are truly glorious…a gripping, moving story.” * SUNDAY EXPRESS * “Like the magic at the heart of the story, this vivid, haunting novel is both vast and intimate. A world war echoes a family conflict, and the delights and dangers of childhood suddenly have vast implications. A wonderful and thought-provoking read.” — KATHERINE ARDEN, author of The Winternight Series “What an extraordinary and wonderful achievement this novel is! I was gripped, and thrilled, and touched, and above all I was completely swept into the magic of the book…And the scope of the thing! Such a broad chronological range, such sweep, all with the lightest touch. Just astonishing.” — ADAM ROBERTS “truly magical … Anyone who’s ever stepped inside a traditional toyshop and marvelled at the wonders on display will instantly be captivated by this book, which transports readers to The Emporium in London. Prepare to be charmed by this utterly enchanting tale.” * CULTUREFLY * “A magical World War I novel” * METRO *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible