Publication Date: 04/01/2024 ISBN: 9780241536452 Category:

The Swifts

Beth Lincoln, Claire Powell

Publisher: Penguin Random House Children's UK
Publication Date: 04/01/2024 ISBN: 9780241536452 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£7.99

Quantity:

Description

‘A stunning debut . . . laugh-out-loud funny’ – Observer

Discover the hilarious New York Times bestselling mystery adventure perfect for fans of Robin Stevens and Lemony Snicket.

On the day they are born, each Swift is brought before the Family Dictionary. They are given a name and a definition, and it is assumed they will grow up to match. Unfortunately, Shenanigan Swift has other ideas.

So what if her relatives all think she’s destined to turn out as a troublemaker, just because of her name? Shenanigan knows she can be whatever she wants – pirate, explorer or even detective.

Which is lucky, really, because when one of the Family tries to murder Arch-Aunt Schadenfreude, someone has to work out whodunit.

With the help of her sisters and cousin, Shenanigan grudgingly takes on the case, but more murders, a hidden treasure and an awful lot of suspects make thing seriously complicated.

Can Shenanigan catch the killer before the whole household is picked off? And in a Family where definitions are so important, can she learn to define herself?

‘Murder most splendid’ – The Telegraph.

Winner of the Barnes & Noble Children’s Book Award, shortlisted for the Nero Book Awards and nominated for the Carnegie Medal.

Publisher Review

A stunning debut . . . This is an exquisitely written book about identity and wordplay that's as warm, masterful and up-to-date as it is laugh-out-loud funny. -- Kitty Empire * Observer * Deliciously, quirkily Gothic -- Robin Stevens * New York Times Book Review * Murder most splendid in this ghoulish debut -- Emily Bearn * The Telegraph * Gothic mystery brimming with bonkers characters and boundless energy * Daily Mail * A fun read with diverse characters and an enticing setting. -- Alice Clifford * The Sun * A mystery that is as clever and impish as its heroine * Publisher's Weekly Starred Review * An absolutely delightful debut * Kirkus Reviews Starred Review * A witty confection of highly colourful characters * The Horn Book * A delightful pick for sharp readers enamoured of gothic sensibilities and clever prose * Shelf Awareness Starred Review * This witty, imaginative entry deserves a prominent space on the MG shelf. * PaperBound *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible