Publication Date: 11/05/2017 ISBN: 9780356507774 Category:

The Shadow of What Was Lost

James Islington

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publication Date: 11/05/2017 ISBN: 9780356507774 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

‘A storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire’ Guardian

AS DESTINY CALLS, A JOURNEY BEGINS

It has been twenty years since the god-like Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them – the Gifted – are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion’s Four Tenets, vastly limiting their own powers.

As a young Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and others like him are despised. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden powers of the Augurs, he sets in motion a chain of events that will change everything.

To the west, a young man whose fate is intertwined with Davian’s wakes up in the forest, covered in blood and with no memory of who he is . . .

And in the far north, an ancient enemy long thought defeated, begins to stir.

The Licanius trilogy:
The Shadow of What Was Lost
An Echo of Things to Come
The Light of All That Falls

‘Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters’ Boingboing.net

‘Will appeal to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding’ Fantasy Faction

‘Love the Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favourite series’ Barnes & Noble SF and Fantasy Blog

Publisher Review

Relentless pace and exciting plot . . . absorbing and impressive -- CULTUREFLY An action-packed nailbiter -- BOOKBAG Definitely a series to watch out for. It has everything you wish in Epic fantasy and a lot more -- THE BOOK PLANK Magic, monsters, prophecies, betrayals and revenge . . . The first novel by James Islington has it all -- THE ELOQUENT PAGE Complex magic, terrifying threats out of legend, political intrigue, and a large cast of characters . . . Fans of doorstop epic fantasy will not be disappointed -- PUBLISHERS WEEKLY Love the Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favourite series -- BARNES & NOBLE SF BLOG Incessant plot twists and a relentless pace -- KIRKUS Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters -- BOINGBOING A relentless juggernaut of a book . . . Astoundingly intricate worldbuilding -- DAILY MAIL Action aplenty and an ample spattering of violence . . . This is a whole new world with a fresh fantasy streak -- SCIFINOW A traditional coming-of-age, saving-the-world epic fantasy in the vein of Tad Williams, Raymond E. Feist (and yes, Robert Jordan). But it also has the flavour of something new . . . You'll be left wanting more -- SFX So exciting . . . Will appeal not only to The Wheel of Time readers, but to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding -- FANTASY FACTION Storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire -- GUARDIAN

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible