Publication Date: 26/06/2014 ISBN: 9780241967768 Category:

The Rotters’ Club

Jonathan Coe

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Publication Date: 26/06/2014 ISBN: 9780241967768 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

The first in The Rotters’ Club series, bestselling author Jonathan Coe’s iconic tale of Benjamin Trotter is a hilarious, heartfelt celebration of the joys and agonies of growing up

WINNER OF THE EVERYMAN WODEHOUSE PRIZE
__________

Birmingham, England, c. 1973: industrial strikes, bad pop music, first love, corrosive class warfare, detention, IRA bombings.

Four friends: a class clown who stoops very low for a laugh; a confused artist enthralled by rock; an earnest radical with socialist leanings; and a quiet dreamer obsessed with poetry, God, and the prettiest girl in school.

Unforgettably funny and painfully honest, The Rotters’ Club is perfect for readers of Nick Hornby and William Boyd – or anyone who ever experience adolescence the hard way!

THE STORY CONTINUES IN THE CLOSED CIRCLE AND MIDDLE ENGLAND.
__________

‘One of those sweeping, ambitious yet hugely readable, moving and richly comic novels . . . a masterpiece’ Daily Telegraph

‘Very funny . . . Coe had achieved that rare feat: a novel stuffed with characters you really care for’ The Times

‘A book to cherish, a book to reread, a book to buy for all your friends’ Independent on Sunday

Written with his signature wit, Jonathan Coe’s unmissable new novel, Bournville, is available to pre-order now!

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible