Publication Date: 19/04/2018 ISBN: 9781405924740 Category:

The Push

Tommy Caldwell

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Publication Date: 19/04/2018 ISBN: 9781405924740 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

THE STORY BEHIND THE HARDEST CLIMB IN HISTORY & ACCLAIMED DOCUMENTARY ‘DAWN WALL’

‘Heart-stopping, absorbing’ Daily Mail

‘The most daring free climber on the planet’ The Times

In 2015 climber Tommy Caldwell took on the hardest challenge of his life, spending 19 days freeclimbing Yosemite’s vertical, 3000-foot Dawn Wall – regarded as the most difficult climb in history and a route nobody had ever done before.

This odds-defying feat was the culmination of seven years planning and a lifetime of determination.

Here, he recounts how he got there, the falls and setbacks – being held hostage, losing his index finger, the break-up of his marriage – the summits conquered and the fears overcome.

Fans of Free Solo and Dawn Wall, and climbers and non-climbers alike, will be gripped by this story of drive, focus and achieving the impossible.
__________

‘The Push is not simply a book about rock climbing’ Guardian

‘Probably the greatest living athlete most people have never heard of’ Telegraph

‘Arguably the best all-round rock climber on the planet’ National Geographic

‘A real page-turner . . . captivating and deeply moving’ Climb magazine

‘Captivating and unfailingly honest’ Jon Krakauer, author of Into the Wild and Into Thin Air

Publisher Review

You always know that Caldwell's going to make it to the top of that 3,000-foot hunk of Yosemite granite. The book's raw honesty helps it transcend the hackneyed sports-autobiography genre * Outside * Exquisitely detailed ... The Push achieves the rarest of adventure reads: it thrills with colourful details of courage and perseverance but it enriches readers with an absolutely captivating glimpse of how a simple yet unwavering resolve can turn adversity into reward ... Caldwell is not just unflinchingly forthright in The Push, but his writing flows with the grace that defines his climbing ... While Caldwell excels at vividly illuminating his exploits - descriptions of climbs, his awe of nature, the physical challenges - his writing shines brightest as he examines his inner life ... he shows that pursuing a life pursuing adventure should inspire anyone * Denver Post * Totally captivating . . . beautifully constructed and passionately written * Climber Magazine * Whilst undeniably a book about climbing, it manages to be more than that . . . Perhaps the most gripping moments in the book happen away from climbing altogether . . . One of the most insightful climbing books of recent times, The Push comes highly recommended. * Trek & Mountain * The authenticity is compelling, the stories inspiring . . . impossible to put down. -- Sarah Ryan * Trail * The most daring free climber on the planet * The Times * BOOK OF THE WEEK . . . heart-stopping, absorbing * Daily Mail * A genuine achievement in its own right . . . Caldwell's voice comes through clearly in passages of well crafted prose . . . The Push is not simply a book about rock climbing * Guardian *

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible