Publication Date: 11/09/2014 ISBN: 9781447271062 Category:

The Places In Between

Rory Stewart

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Publication Date: 11/09/2014 ISBN: 9781447271062 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£10.99

Quantity:

Description

The Places In Between, Rory Stewart’s moving account of his walk across Afghanistan in January 2002 was immediately hailed as a classic.

Caught between hostile nations, warring factions and competing ideologies, at the time Afghanistan was in turmoil following the US invasion. Travelling entirely on foot and following the inaccessible mountainous route once taken by the Mogul Emperor, Babur the Great, Stewart was nearly defeated by the extreme, hostile conditions. Only with the help of an unexpected companion and the generosity of the people he met on the way did he survive to report back with unique insight on a region closed to the world by twenty-four years of war.

Winner of the Royal Society of Literature Ondaatje Award and the Spirit of Scotland Award and shortlisted for the Guardian First Book Award, the John Llewellyn Rhys Memorial Prize and the Scottish Book of the Year Prize.

Publisher Review

Thank goodness for brave people doing crazy things and for a writer in the tradition of Thesiger and Thubron * Spectator * An insight into the country that few could match * New Statesman * Wise, funny and marvelously humane -- Michael Ignatieff An astonishing achievement: a unique journey of great courage -- Colin Thubron This evocative book feels like a long lost relic of the great age of exploration * Guardian * [Stewart] must have balls of steel, but he writes like and angel all the same -- Giles Foden With a deft, at time poetic vividness, he describes an awesome landscape, scarred by a present and a past of violence and death . . . His encounters with Afghans are tragic, touching and terrifying * Daily Telegraph * This is traveling at its hardest and travel-writing at its best -- David Gilmour

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible