Publication Date: 03/03/2022 ISBN: 9781838773076 Category:

The Physician’s Daughter

Martha Conway

Publisher: Zaffre
Publication Date: 03/03/2022 ISBN: 9781838773076 Category:
Hardback

£16.99

Quantity:

Description

‘Historical fiction at its best’ Tracy Rees, author of The Rose Garden

A compelling novel of female perseverance and the role of women in society set in the aftermath of the American Civil War. For readers of Tracy Chevalier.

In a world made for men, can one woman break free from tradition and walk a new path?

It is 1865, the American Civil War has just ended, and 18-year old Vita Tenney is determined to pursue her lifelong dream of becoming a country doctor like her father. But when her father tells her she must get married instead, Vita explores every means of escape – and finds one in the person of war veteran Jacob Culhane. Damaged by what he’s seen in battle and with all his family gone, Jacob is seeking investors for a fledgling business. Then he meets Vita – and together they hatch a plan that should satisfy both their desires.

Months later, Vita seemingly has everything she ever wanted. But alone in a big city and haunted by the mistakes of her past, she wonders if the life she always thought she wanted was too good to be true. When love starts to compete with ambition, what will come out on top?

From the author of The Floating Theatre, The Physician’s Daughter is the story of two people trying to make their way in a world that is struggling to escape its past.

‘Vividly realised, and impeccably researched, with a determined female lead’ Kayte Nunn, author of The Botanist’s Daughter

‘A riveting read set during the American civil war, about a pioneering young woman dead-set on becoming a doctor’ Inga Vesper, author of The Long, Long Afternoon

‘A compelling story’ Heat Magazine

‘In the proud tradition of female characters from Jo March to Meredith Grey, Vita Tenney takes her place as a determined woman unwilling to let society or her family control her destiny. I was captivated by The Physician’s Daughter. The novel stays with you’ Tony Phelan, executive producer of Grey’s Anatomy

‘Completely charming’ Imogen Hermes Gowar, author of The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock on The Floating Theatre

Publisher Review

Completely charming -- Imogen Hermes Gowar on The Floating Theatre Vividly realised, and impeccably researched, with a determined female lead, this is perfect for fans of Jennifer Donnelly. -- Kayte Nunn, author of THE BOTANIST'S DAUGHTER I LOVED it. What an achievement - historical fiction at its best. It was so detailed, real and atmospheric - I felt I was there with Vita, Jacob et al. Tremendous characters - vivid, complex and inspiring . . . a truly wonderful book. One of those books that stop you doing ANYTHING until it's finished. Utterly compelling & inspiring. A sweeping story of an amazing woman battling to break through the constraints of her time. Read it! * Tracy Rees, author of THE ROSE GARDEN * A riveting read set during the American civil war, about a pioneering young woman dead-set on becoming a doctor. * Inga Vesper, author of THE LONG, LONG AFTERNOON * In the proud tradition of female characters from Jo March to Meredith Grey, Vita Tenney takes her place as a determined woman unwilling to let society or her family control her destiny. I was captivated by The Physician's Daughter. The novel stays with you. * Tony Phelan, executive producer of Grey's Anatomy and Council of Dads *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible