Publication Date: 13/05/2021 ISBN: 9781529350913 Category:

The Photographer

Mary Dixie Carter

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Publication Date: 13/05/2021 ISBN: 9781529350913 Category:
Hardback

£18.99


This book is scheduled to be published on 13/05/2021.
You can order it now and we'll ship it once available.
Quantity:

Description

‘You meets Parasite’ JENNIFER HILLIER

They wanted the perfect family picture.
She wanted their perfect life.

Delta Dawn may have come from humble beginnings, but she has been photographing children’s parties for Manhattan’s elite for several years. She moves unnoticed through the luxurious homes of her clients, carefully observing their beautiful clothes, their furniture and art. The parties themselves are often far from perfect, full of spoiled, crying children, but Delta can always alter the images afterwards to make sure the parents only see the party they wanted. The realities of life can be forgotten with a little airbrushing or filter.

But when she is hired to photograph Natalie Straub’s 11th birthday party, Delta finds herself irresistibly attracted. This time, she imagines she is in the pictures with them – she would fit there so perfectly, wouldn’t she, in their gorgeous home, their elegant life? Delta begins by babysitting for Natalie, slowly befriending Amelia, finding opportunities to listen to Fritz; soon she’s bathing in the master bathtub, reading private documents, drinking their expensive wine, and eyeing the beautifully finished garden apartment – if only the current occupant could be made to leave . . .

And then Delta discovers the one thing Amelia Straub wants most is also the perfect way to ensure she will always stay part of the family.

Combining pin-sharp storytelling with a tantalising build of menace, and a dangerously magnetic lead character, The Photographer heralds the arrival of a brilliant new crime writer for fans of Caroline Kepnes and Gillian Flynn.

‘Outstanding . . . dazzlingly devious’ Publisher’s Weekly

‘As sharply focused and mesmerizing as a magic trick . . .’ Kirkus Reviews

Publisher Review

A twisted, dark, psychological thriller, The Photographer by Mary Dixie Carter is a riveting and unsettling read. I couldn't put it down * Lisa Lutz, New York Times bestselling author of The Passenger * Unsettling from page one, Mary Dixie Carter's The Photographer follows an insidious photographer as she wheedles her way into the home of the clients she idolizes, permanently altering the course of all their lives. Masterful storytelling in a unique voice . . . this remarkable debut is sure to keep you riveted! * Katherine St. John, author of The Lion's Den * The tension simmers brilliantly in this addictive and intricately constructed story of beauty, longing and the shadow side of desire. By holding up a mirror to our modern-day obsessions, Mary Dixie Carter shows us the futility of chasing greener grass and the madness that begins with picture-perfection. After reading The Photographer, the phrase 'living the dream' takes on a whole new and chilling meaning * Anna Downes, international bestselling author of The Safe Place * Why create the perfect life when you can just insert yourself into someone else's? Mary Dixie Carter's The Photographer is You meets Parasite, and I inhaled every dark, twisted moment of this brilliant thriller. Sharply observant, tense, and totally hypnotic, The Photographer is the most addictive suspense novel I've read in years * Jennifer Hillier, award-winning author of Jar of Hearts and Little Secrets * As sharply focused and mesmerizing as a magic trick and a good deal creepier than most * Kirkus *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible