Publication Date: 01/10/2020 ISBN: 9781529013375 Category:

The Orphans of St Halibut’s

Sophie Wills, David Tazzyman

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Publication Date: 01/10/2020 ISBN: 9781529013375 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£7.99

Quantity:

Description

Stolen cakes, major explosions and an unforgettable cast of characters – dive into The Orphans of St Halibut’s, a hilarious caper from debut author Sophie Wills and million-copy bestselling illustrator, David Tazzyman.

Life has been perfect ever since the orphans of St Halibut’s buried their matron – don’t look like that, it was an accident! Tig, Stef, Herc, and Pamela the goat just have to make sure nobody finds out they’re on their own.

Discovering that an Inspector is on his way, they’ll need to convince him that everything is peachy or they’ll be sent to the Mending House – where badly behaved orphans go, never to return. But the Inspector is not quite what he seems and things very quickly go from bad to spectacularly out of hand . . .

Can these crafty kids outsmart the adults and save their home?

‘A fabulously funny tale of clever orphans, rambling houses, angry goats and grizzly ends’ – Kirsty Applebaum, author of The Middler

‘The most effortlessly hilarious book I’ve read in a long time with an unforgettable cast’ – Nizrana Farook, author of The Girl Who Stole an Elephant

Publisher Review

Stupendous and hilarious! Hapless heroes, slime ball villains, and a volatile goat. Deliciously disgusting at times, and filled to the brim with Sophie's dark humour. Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket. -- Hana Tooke, author of The Unadoptables A darkly delightful combination of slapstick humour and sharp satire -- Miss Cleveland, book blogger Deliciously dark and laugh-out-loud funny, I LOVE The Orphans of St Halibut's -- Julie Pike, author of The Last Spell Breather Dark, funny and very, very clever. With gloriously gothic artwork from David Tazzyman -- Rashmi Sirdeshpande, author of How to be Extraordinary This book will make you snort, squirm and scream with laughter! -- Dashe Roberts, author of Sticky Pines: The Bigwoof Conspiracy All round middle grade perfection! -- Marie Basting, author of Princess BMX Fast-paced, witty and clever with wicked twists and turns and a brilliant bunch of characters. David Tazzyman's illustrations are spot on! -- MyBookCorner Blog What a wonderful caper . . . fantastically high-spirited and truly heartwarming story. -- Marina Hyde, Guardian columnist The most effortlessly hilarious book I've read in a long time with an unforgettable cast -- Nizrana Farook, author of The Girl Who Stole an Elephant A fabulously funny tale of clever orphans, rambling houses, angry goats and grizzly ends . . . made me laugh out loud! -- Kirsty Applebaum, author of The Middler Deliciously funny, dark, eccentric and clever -- Nicola Penfold, author of Where the World Turns Wild

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible