Publication Date: 28/10/2021 ISBN: 9781529403299 Category:

The Old Enemy

Henry Porter

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Publication Date: 28/10/2021 ISBN: 9781529403299 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99


This book is scheduled to be published on 28/10/2021.
You can order it now and we'll ship it once available.
Quantity:

Description

‘A timeless ripping espionage yarn’
‘An up-to-the-minute political novel’
‘Characters who become richer with every appearance’
Sunday Times Thriller of the Month

Heart-stopping international spy thriller from ‘An espionage master’ (Charles Cumming) starring ex-MI6 officer Paul Samson for fans of Mick Herron, Lee Child and John le Carre

Ex-MI6 officer Paul Samson has been tasked with secretly guarding a gifted young woman, Zoe Freemantle. He is just beginning to tire of the job when he is attacked in the street by a freakish looking knifeman. It’s clear the target is on his back not hers. What he doesn’t know is who put it there.

At that moment, his mentor, the MI6 legend Robert Harland lies dead on a remote stretch of the Baltic coastline. Who needed to end the old spy’s life when he was, in any case, dying from a terminal illness? And what or who is Berlin Blue, the name scratched in the sketchbook beside his body?

A few hours later, Samson watches footage from the US Congress where billionaire philanthropist Denis Hisami is poisoned with a nerve agent while testifying – an attack that is as spectacular as it is lethal, but spares Anastasia Hisami, the love of Samson’s life.

Two things become clear. One, it was a big mistake to lose the mysterious Zoe Freemantle. And two, Robert Harland is making a final play from beyond the grave.

Publisher Review

Porter skilfully tugs the taut threads of his global conspiracy towards a stirring climax * The Times * The story is complex and the sense of danger spreading across the world gives it urgency * Literary Review * At once an up-to-the-minute political novel about an emergent second Cold War, a timeless, ripping, espionage yarn and a continuation of the lives of characters who become richer with each appearance. An impressive achievement and, as ever with Porter, told in an addictive blend of tangy dialogue and polished prose * Sunday Times Thriller of the Month * Porter has an extra human depth to his stories that gives him the edge over others. Tense and packed with action, intrigue and great characters, you'll be hard pressed to find a better spy novel * Weekend Sport * Fast paced, uber-topical thriller... a roller-coaster ride of a story ... Porter deftly mixes well-structured storytelling with complex, engaging characters * Financial Times Best Thrillers of 2019 on White Hot Silence * Henry Porter is now one of the most accomplished practitioners of the modern thriller * Crime Time * Porter is both his own man and the proud carrier of the flag first unfurled by John le Carre more than fifty years ago. British espionage fiction is the best in the world, and Porter is part of the reason why -- Lee Child Enigmatic, pacy and international * Strong Words magazine *

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible