Publication Date: 22/12/2015 ISBN: 9780349140377 Category:

The Little Paris Bookshop

Nina George, Simon Pare

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publication Date: 22/12/2015 ISBN: 9780349140377 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

The international bestseller, translated from the German by Simon Pare.

On a beautifully restored barge on the Seine, Jean Perdu runs a bookshop; or rather a ‘literary apothecary’, for this bookseller possesses a rare gift for sensing which books will soothe the troubled souls of his customers.

The only person he is unable to cure, it seems, is himself. He has nursed a broken heart ever since the night, twenty-one years ago, when the love of his life fled Paris, leaving behind a handwritten letter that he has never dared read. His memories and his love have been gathering dust – until now. The arrival of an enigmatic new neighbour in his eccentric apartment building on Rue Montagnard inspires Jean to unlock his heart, unmoor the floating bookshop and set off for Provence, in search of the past and his beloved.

Publisher Review

A charming story about life, love, despair and, above all, hope * Who Weekly * a delightful, bittersweet tale * Lakes Post * [a] wonderfully eclectic and quirky cast of characters, all of whom are so well defined and written * The Armchair Library blog * Enchanting and moving ... Rarely have I read such a beautiful book! * Tina magazine * Nina George tells us clever things about love, about literature that 'puts a bounce in your step', about tango in Provence. One of those books that gets you thinking about whom you must give it to as a gift even while you're still reading it, because it makes you happy, and should be part of any well-stocked apothecary * Hamburg Morning Post * Nina George spins a gentle, charming tale . . . it would take a cold heart not to be warmed * Herald * Enchanting and uplifting, this unashamedly sweet tale is a real gem * Heat * A novel about love and books - what better? * Woman and Home * A gentle, heartwarming tale of discovery * Candis * The Little Paris Bookshop is a wonderful tale showing the power of friendship and love * France magazine * A true gem for fiction lovers * Good Housekeeping * A real gem of a book that is my book of the year so far . . . superbly written and flows effortlessly. You read and re-read phrase after evocative phrase. I couldn't put it down. The characters lingered long after I had finished it and the sense of time and place made me want to book a flight to Paris immediately . . . You will LOVE it * Patricia Scanlan * An enchanting, uplifting read . . . the sort of book that acts as a soothing tonic as you read - so the perfect accompaniment to relaxing in the sun * Independent * If you're looking to be charmed right out of your own life for a few hours, sit down with this wise and winsome novel...Everything happens just as you want it to... from poignant moments to crystalline insights in exactly the right measure * oprah.com * A capricious, meandering journey of love, loss and wonderful food, so beautifully described. I enjoyed every moment * Carole Matthews, bestselling author of The Cake Shop in the Garden * A captivating curiosity, for those who still believe in love and books, friendship and food, happiness and romance * Saga * Glowing . . . a classic voyage and return narrative, layered with wit, enchanting writing and a love of books . . . I prescribed it for a cynical friend who has "seen it all" (and read it all) and she swooned * Daily Mail * As . . . the little floating bookshop sets off for Provence, George uses a heady cocktail of literature and more sensual pleasures to create a wonderfully offbeat romance * Mail on Sunday * This charming tale is already a bestseller in Germany. On a beautifully restored barge on the Seine, Jean Perdu runs a bookshop - or as he calls it, 'a literary apothecary', because the owner knows how to use books like medicine. The only person he is unable to cure - of heartache - is himself. For fans of Like Water for Chocolate and Amelie * Red *

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible