Publication Date: 18/02/2021 ISBN: 9781787463615 Category:

The Last Day

Andrew Hunter Murray

Publisher: Cornerstone
Publication Date: 18/02/2021 ISBN: 9781787463615 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

____________________
‘A beautifully realised and thought-provoking thriller’ THE TIMES
‘A brilliant near-future thriller and a really cracking read’ RICHARD OSMAN
‘Reminiscent of Robert Harris’s high-concept conspiracy thrillers’ FINANCIAL TIMES
____________________
A WORLD HALF IN DARKNESS. A SECRET SHE MUST BRING TO LIGHT.

2059. The world has stopped turning.

One half suffers an endless frozen night; the other, nothing but burning sun.

Only in a slim twilit region between them can life survive.

In an isolationist Britain clinging on in the twilight zone, scientist Ellen Hopper receives a letter from a dying man. It contains a powerful and dangerous secret.

One that those in power will kill to conceal…
____________________
THE LAST DAY: an utterly original thriller from an exciting new voice, perfect for readers who loved Robert Harris’ Fatherland, Emily St. John Mandel’s Station 11, and The Wall by John Lanchester.
____________________
‘Wonderful: boldly imagined and beautifully written – the best future-shock thriller for years.’
LEE CHILD

‘A tantalizing, suspenseful odyssey of frustration, deceit, treachery, torture, hope, despair and ingenious sleuthing… Murray has so thoroughly thought through the ramifications of his conceit and conjured up such a dramatic plot and stellar cast of characters that he might have set a new standard for such tales.’
WASHINGTON POST

‘A stunningly original thriller set in the world of tomorrow that will make you think about what’s happening today.’
HARLAN COBEN

‘A taut, thrilling runaround.’
GUARDIAN

‘I read this hungrily … Its intelligence and bravura characterisation will have you turning page after page. A fabulous achievement.’
STEPHEN FRY

‘A brilliant debut … Fans of Robert Harris will love it’
DAILY EXPRESS

‘To say it’s gripping is an understatement – I cancelled all my weekend plans to finish it’
SARA PASCOE

‘In his fascinating debut, Murray has crafted something original … an interesting new twist on a post-apocalyptic tale.’
KIRKUS

‘Downright impossible to stop reading. The science is believable, the near-future world feels as real as our own, the characters are lively, and the plot is suspenseful. A near-perfect alternate-future thriller.’
BOOKLIST

‘Dark, believable and brilliantly written’
JENNY COLGAN

‘A thrilling page-turner, and a reminder to treasure our sunsets and sunrises while we still have them. I couldn’t put this book down!’
CHRISTINA DALCHER, author of VOX

‘I loved the premise of this high-concept thriller … a compelling read with some well-placed observations on the darkness of human nature and survival. The Last Day will keep you gripped to the very last page’
C.J. TUDOR

‘Inventive, richly detailed world-building’
TELEGRAPH

‘Intriguing and unusual’
SUNDAY TIMES

Publisher Review

A brilliant debutwhich blends apocalyptic drama with a tale of espionage, keeping readers on tenterhooks [...] Fans of Robert Harris will love it. * Daily Express * A taut, thrilling runaround... The Last Day is an impressive dystopian techno-thriller. Murray paints a grim picture of a draconian isolationist Britain, with some vivid descriptions of a much-changed London, and the novel's climax has a neat twist. * Guardian Books of the Month * Murray should be commended for going into the nitty-gritty of how his post-disaster society functions[...] What really distinguishes the book, though, is the creative energy of its world-building: it demonstrates the virtue of using the future as a playground for the imagination rather than trying to second-guess it. * Telegraph: the best thrillers and crime fiction of 2020 * A brilliantly clever thriller from a brilliantly clever writer. -- Richard Osman I read this hungrily ... Its intelligence and bravura characterization will have you turning page after page. A fabulous achievement. * STEPHEN FRY *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible