Publication Date: 25/07/2019 ISBN: 9781910477724 Category:

The Lady in the Car with Glasses and a Gun

Sebastien Japrisot, Helen Weaver and Gallic Books, Gallic Books

Publisher: Gallic Books
Publication Date: 25/07/2019 ISBN: 9781910477724 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

For fans of Patricia Highsmith, Harriet Tyce, Jorn Lier Horst, Fred Vargas and Jean-Patrick Manchette.

Publisher Review

'A welcome reissue of a French classic... Utterly captivating, this is a perfect diversion for a sunny afternoon' The Guardian `The most welcome talent since the early Simenons' New York Times 'Japrisot might be called the Graham Greene of France' The Independent 'A cordon bleu mixture of suspense, sex, trick psychology and fast action' Publishers Weekly 'A riddle as captivating as it is terrifying' Christian House Praise for A Very Long Engagement `A classic of its kind, brewing up enormous pathos undiluted by sentimentality' Daily Telegraph `Diabolically clever ... The reader is alternately impressed, beguiled, frightened, bewildered ... A considerable achievement' Anita Brookner `The narrative is brilliantly complex and beguiling, and the climax devastating' The Independent `Riveting ... A fierce, elliptical novel that's both a gripping philosophical thriller and a highly moving meditation on the emotional consequences of war' New York Times `Precisely, surprisingly evocative of the lingering pain of mourning and the burdens of survival' Kirkus Reviews `A kind of latter-day War and Peace ... a rich and most original panorama' Los Angeles Book Review Praise for One Deadly Summer `A gripping tale of hatred, revenge, and lust ... A sinister spellbinder' Publishers Weekly 'Japrisot's talent lies for one part in the clever construction of his novels ... it also lies in the writing that is simple, rhythmical, surprising, phonetic and lyrical' Le Point `Japrisot holds a unique place in contemporary fiction. With the quality and originality of his writing, he has hugely contributed to breaking down the barrier between crime fiction and literary fiction' Le Monde `Unreeled with the taut, confident shaping of a grand master ... Funny, awful, first-rate. A rich and resonant sonata in black, astutely suspended between mythic tragedy and the grubby pathos of nagging everyday life' Kirkus Reviews `A marvellous storyteller' Telerama

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible