Publication Date: 17/03/2022 ISBN: 9781529082883 Category:

The Kaiju Preservation Society

John Scalzi

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Publication Date: 17/03/2022 ISBN: 9781529082883 Category:
Hardback

£16.99

Quantity:

Description

The Kaiju Preservation Society by John Scalzi is a thrilling, fast-paced adventure set on an alternate Earth – perfect for fans of Adrian Tchaikovsky and Michel Crichton’s Jurassic Park.

‘John Scalzi is the most entertaining, accessible writer working in SF today’ – Joe Hill, author of The Fireman

They’re big, they’re bad and they’re about to become extinct . . .

Jamie’s dream was to hit the big time at a New York tech start-up. Jamie’s reality was a humiliating lay-off, then a lowwage job as a takeaway delivery driver. During a pandemic too. Things look beyond grim, until a chance delivery to an old acquaintance. Tom has an urgent vacancy on his team: the pay is great and Jamie has debts – it’s a no-brainer choice. Yet, once again, reality fails to match expectations. Only this time it could be fatal.

It seems Tom’s ‘animal rights organization’ is way more than it appears. The animals aren’t even on Earth – or not our Earth, anyway. In an alternate dimension, massive dinosaur-like creatures roam a tropical, human-free world. And although Kaiju are their universe’s largest and most dangerous animal, they need support to survive.

Tom’s ‘Kaiju Preservation Society’ wants to help. However, others want to profit. Unless they’re stopped, the walls between our worlds could fall – and the consequences would be devastating.

Publisher Review

A more ethical Jurassic Park meets the camaraderie of Parks and Recreation in this wonderfully witty and refreshingly earnest adventure yarn . . . Sure to delight -- Publishers Weekly Bubbles with . . . banter and snarky humour -- Kirkus Reviews An escapist delight -- The Times John Scalzi is the most entertaining, accessible writer working in SF today -- Joe Hill on Old Man's War Scalzi is one of the slickest writers that SF has ever produced -- Wall Street Journal on Old Man's War Rousing storytelling and satisfying intrigue . . . an engaging, well-crafted sci-fi drama -- SFX on The Collapsing Empire Scalzi is not producing didactic fiction; he's telling a great story -- Huffington Post on Lock In Clever dialogue, fast-paced story and strong characters -- The Times on the Old Man's War series An incredible imagination -- LA Times on The Consuming Fire

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible