Publication Date: 28/01/2016 ISBN: 9780007525355 Category:

The Invisible Guardian

Dolores Redondo

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication Date: 28/01/2016 ISBN: 9780007525355 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£9.99

Quantity:

Description

A killer at large in a remote Basque Country valley , a detective to rival Clarice Starling, myth versus reality, masterful storytelling – the Spanish bestseller that has taken Europe by storm.

Shortlisted for the CWA International Dagger

The body of a teenage girl has been found on the banks of the River Baztan – the second in a month. Soon rumours are flying in the village of Elizondo. Is this the work of a serial killer, or something even more sinister?

Inspector Amaia Salazar leads the investigation, returning to the Basque country where she was born. Shrouded in mist and surrounded by forest, it conceals a terrible secret from Amaia’s childhood that has come back to haunt her.

Facing the superstitions of the village, Amaia must fight the demons of her past in order to catch the killer. But what is the dark presence she senses lurking in the shadows?

Publisher Review

'Myth and reality blend in this sophisticated and razor-sharp thriller ... gritty, fascinating and compelling' Steve Berry 'Combines singular characters and an eerily atmospheric setting' Sunday Times this is a well-written book for those eager to explore a little-known area of Spain, and should appeal to fans of Fred Vargas and James Oswald. The supernatural elements are handled with a light touch, and shouldn't put off more cynical readers, Crime Fiction Lover An intriguing read - compelling and often dark' Liz Loves Books blog 'Well-written and engaging' Raven Crime Reads blog 'Has so many facets to it that it becomes utterly compelling' Publishing Perspectives 'An engrossing psychological thriller' Publishers Weekly 'Exciting ... the level of sustained uncertainty is magnificently realized' Library Journal

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible