Publication Date: 01/08/2013 ISBN: 9780857051066 Category:

The Human Part

Kari Hotakainen, Owen F. Witesman, Owen F. Witesman

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Publication Date: 01/08/2013 ISBN: 9780857051066 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£9.99

Quantity:

Description

An elderly woman agrees to sell her life story to an author with writer’s block she meets at a book fair. She needs to talk – her husband has not spoken since a family tragedy some months ago, and seven thousand euros is a lot of money. She claims that her grown-up children are doing well, but the writer imagines less salubrious lives for them, as the downturn of Finland’s economic boom begins to bite. Perhaps he’s on to something. The Human Part lays bare the absurdities of modern society in the most vicious and precise manner imaginable. But it is also a wise novel of family life, rejoicing in the little white lies we tell one another and the way we pull together in times of tragedy.

Publisher Review

'A simply stunning book. Fans of Mark Haddon and Haruki Murakami will be enraptured' Sarah Beech, Time Out. * Time Out *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible