Publication Date: 07/09/2017 ISBN: 9780008212759 Category:

The Grotlyn

Benji Davies

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication Date: 07/09/2017 ISBN: 9780008212759 Category:
Hardback

£12.99

Quantity:

Mr B's review

It is quite unusual to find such a cleverly atmospheric picture book that also has humour, brilliant rhyming text AND an uplifting end (in more ways than one). The author of the hugely successful ‘The Storm Whale’ has created here a suspense-filled tale of a mysterious creature that scuttles through the dead of night, taking things, hurrying away….but to what end? Set on Victorian streets and with almost cinematic illustrations, this is something very special for a wintry night.

Description

A stunningly illustrated picture book full of mystery and suspense, from the bestselling author of THE STORM WHALE and GRANDAD’S ISLAND.

“I know when the Grotlyn’s been
Slipping through your house unseen…”

What is the mysterious Grotlyn? What sort of creature could it be, scuttling across the town, frightening everyone in its path? And why has it stolen PC Vickers’ knickers?!

A beautifully illustrated rhyming tale about things that go bump in the night for ages four and up, from picture book superstar, Benji Davies, winner of Oscar’s First Book Prize 2014 and Sainsbury’s Children’s Book of the Year 2015. Perfect for fans of Oliver Jeffers and Jon Klassen.

Publisher Review

Praise for Benji Davies”Benji Davies (The Storm Whale and Grandad’s Island) is fast establishing himself as a leading light in children’s picture books” – Huffington Post
“An author-illustrator destined to be one of this generation’s great talents” – Huffington Post
Praise for THE STORM WHALE”Like the best picture books, “The Storm Whale” has an outsize emotional force that often comes from what the author-illustrator Benji Davies leaves out” – New York Times
Praise for THE STORM WHALE IN WINTER”Intensely atmospheric, full of biting cold, tender detail and warm light, this is a book to cuddle up with” – The Guardian
Praise for GRANDAD’S ISLAND”A gently magical story about bidding farewell to a grandparent, Davies’ vibrant palette infuses the story with a hopeful spirit” – Huffington Post
“Benji Davies didn’t invent the melancholy sea story, but he sure knows how to deliver one…’Grandad’s Island’ metaphorically and movingly re-imagines the experience of loss” – Boston Globe

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible