Publication Date: 01/02/2020 ISBN: 9781406385854 Category:

The Good Hawk (Shadow Skye, Book One)

Joseph Elliott, Levente Szabo

Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Publication Date: 01/02/2020 ISBN: 9781406385854 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£7.99

Quantity:

Description

If everything was taken from you, what would you do to get it back?

Agatha patrols the sea wall with pride, despite those in her clan who question her right to be there, because of the condition she was born with.

Jaime is a reluctant Angler, full of self-doubt and afraid of the sea.

When disaster strikes, the pair must embark on a terrifying journey to a land where forgotten magic and dark secrets lurk in every shadow…

Thrilling and dark, yet rich with humour and compassion, this novel marks the debut of a wonderful new voice in fantasy and a welcome new kind of protagonist – perfect for fans of The Girl of Ink and Stars, Garth Nix and Michelle Paver.

As featured on BBC Radio 2 on Jo Whiley’s Storytime.

“A thrilling, strange and brutally involving debut.” Guardian

“A story fantasy-loving young readers may not even know they’ve been waiting for.” New York Times

“A wild, thrilling and sometimes dark fantasy adventure.” The Week Junior

“A gripping, brutal adventure that completely swept me away.” Emma Carroll

“A brave new voice in fantasy fiction.” Sally Green, author of Half Bad

“I could hardly turn the pages fast enough.” Holly Jackson, author of A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder

“Darkly beautiful, original and brimming with hope and compassion.” Kesia Lupo, author of We Are Blood And Thunder

“A sublimely plotted, windswept adventure.” Cerrie Burnell, Children’s TV Presenter and author of The Girl with the Shark’s Teeth

“This book is a triumph.” Katya Balen, author of The Space We’re In

“One of the freshest, most exciting fantasies I’ve ever read.” Sarah Ann Juckes, author of Outside

“A proper barnstormer … This book is a charismatic charmer.” SFX

“A page-turner of a book, packing a real punch with its high-level suspense.” BookTrust

“Rich in atmosphere while dripping with grisly violence … A fresh and exciting debut.” Kirkus

“The chill barren setting of Scotia provides rich terrain for an unsettling wildness.” The Irish Times

Publisher Review

The Good Hawk is amazing, full of texture that will enliven the senses and imagination. Tense, enthralling, brilliant; an utter feast for lovers of fantasy and historical fiction. * Fallen Star Stories * The Good Hawk has 368 pages that are filled with a cast of weird and wonderful characters that the reader can engage with, and who have the most incredible adventures. * ReadingZone * The chill barren setting of Scotia provides rich terrain for an unsettling wildness, which Elliott cleverly lets reign in the closing epilogue, as he pushes the remarkable Agatha's fate - not her clan's - to the forefront. * The Irish Times * The Good Hawk blends ancient myth and doses of spectacularly dark magic with the most likeable - and unlikely - pair of of heroes. A gripping, brutal adventure that completely swept me away. -- Emma Carroll With its blend of unusual character development and clever exploration of ancient realms, "The Good Hawk" is a story fantasy-loving young readers may not even know they've been waiting for. -- Kaitlyn Wells * The New York Times *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible