Publication Date: 01/01/2014 ISBN: 9780007480197 Category:

The Golem and the Djinni

Helene Wecker

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication Date: 01/01/2014 ISBN: 9780007480197 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£9.99

Quantity:

Description

‘One of only two novels I’ve ever loved whose main characters are not human’BARBARA KINGSOLVER
For fans of The Essex Serpentand The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock.

‘By far my favourite book of of the year’ Guardian

One cold night, two newcomers emerge onto the streets of 1899 New York, and it is never the same again.

But these two are more than strangers to this land, they are strangers to this world. From the depths of folkloric history come Chava the golem, a creature made of clay, brought to life by a disgraced rabbi and Ahmad, a djinni, born in the ancient Syrian desert and trapped in an old copper flask released accidentally by a tinsmith in a Lower Manhattan shop.

Two companions who were never meant to be released, and never meant to meet. And when they do, their opposing natures will be sealed by a special bond, but one that is threatened by watching eyes, roaming owners and a misunderstanding world.

A glittering gem of a novel, as spell-binding as it is compelling, The Golem and The Djinniasks us what we’re made of and how we can break free.

Publisher Review

`By far my favourite book of of the year ... There isn't a wasted word, poorly considered paragraph or a single chapter in this high-concept fairytale that doesn't deliver some new enchantment' Damien Walter, Guardian `The Golem and The Djinni has the detailed realism of historical fiction, the haunting feel of a folk tale, and is one of only two novels I've ever loved whose main characters are not human' Barbara Kingsolver `The author makes you care enough about the humanity of these magical spirits to not only see them through to the end but also to regret that you've reached the last page' New York Times `A continuous delight - provocative, atmospheric, and superbly paced' Boston Globe `The Golem and The Djinni are among my favourite fictional people' Washington Post

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible