Publication Date: 04/02/2021 ISBN: 9781444960112 Category:

The Girls I’ve Been

Tess Sharpe

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
Publication Date: 04/02/2021 ISBN: 9781444960112 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£7.99

Quantity:

Description

Soon to be a Netflix film starring Stranger Things’ Millie Bobby Brown – this must-read psychological thriller, perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying, will leave you guessing until the final page.

As an ex con artist, Nora has always got herself out of tricky situations. But the ultimate test lies in wait when she’s taken hostage in a bank heist. And this time, Nora doesn’t have an escape plan …

Meet Nora. Also known as Rebecca, Samantha, Haley, Katie and Ashley – the girls she’s been.

Nora didn’t choose a life of deception – she was born into it. As the daughter of a con artist who targeted criminal men, Nora always had to play a part. But when her mother fell for one of the men instead of conning him, Nora pulled the ultimate con herself: escape.

For five years Nora’s been playing at normal – but things are far from it when she finds herself held at gunpoint in the middle of a bank heist, along with Wes (her ex-boyfriend) and Iris (her secret new girlfriend and mutual friend of Wes … awkward). Now it will take all of Nora’s con artistry skills to get them out alive.

Because the gunmen have no idea who she really is – that girl has been in hiding for far too long …

‘Slick, stylish and full of suspense’ – Sophie McKenzie.
‘A powerful gut-punch of a book that will leave you reeling long after its final pages. I couldn’t put it down!’ – Chelsea Pitcher.
‘Unlike anything I’ve read before… immediate, gripping, incredibly tense, heart-breaking, heart-warming and FUN! ‘ – Holly Jackson.
‘I could hardly breathe until I finished. The tension! Absolutely loved it.’ – Emily Barr

Publisher Review

Oh my god, I could hardly breathe until I finished. The tension! Absolutely loved it. * Emily Barr * 'Slick, stylish and full of suspense * Sophie McKenzie * Grifters! Secret identities! Death-defying escapes! The Girls I've Been is a powerful gut-punch of a book that will leave you reeling long after its final pages. I couldn't put it down! * Chelsea Pitcher * The Girls I've Been is unlike anything I've read before: immediate, gripping, incredibly tense, heart-breaking, heart-warming and FUN! The hot-red suspense of both Nora's past and the unfolding robbery at the bank had me racing through the chapters to find out what happens. This brilliant, thrilling, twisty book held me hostage until the very last page. * Holly Jackson * A captivating, explosive, and satisfyingly queer thriller * Kirkus *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible