Publication Date: 17/02/2022 ISBN: 9781786580733 Category:

The Gifts

Liz Hyder

Publisher: Bonnier Books Ltd
Publication Date: 17/02/2022 ISBN: 9781786580733 Category:
Hardback

£14.99

Quantity:

Description

‘Fierce and touching’ Jennifer Saint, bestselling author of Ariadne

‘Haunting, thrilling, wonderful. I loved it’ Stacey Halls

‘Your next obsession. . . Unique and captivating’ Cosmopolitan

Discover the extraordinary, luminous novel that everyone is talking about, perfect for fans of The Binding, The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock and The Doll Factory

In an age defined by men, it will take something extraordinary to show four women who they truly are . . .

October 1840. A young woman staggers alone through a forest in Shropshire as a huge pair of impossible wings rip themselves from her shoulders.

Meanwhile, when rumours of a ‘fallen angel’ cause a frenzy across London, a surgeon desperate for fame and fortune finds himself in the grips of a dangerous obsession, one that will place the women he seeks in the most terrible danger . . .

THE GIFTS is the astonishing debut adult novel from the lauded author of BEARMOUTH. A gripping and ambitious book told through five different perspectives and set against the luminous backdrop of nineteenth century London, it explores science, nature and religion, enlightenment, the role of women in society and the dark danger of ambition.

‘A boldly feminist novel that lingers long after the last page’ Susan Stokes Chapman, Sunday Times bestselling author of Pandora

‘Imaginative, extraordinary . . . Brimming with historical detail and beautifully written, the soulful prose soars. It’s an insightful, mysterious read celebrating female friendship and solidarity’ Daily Express

‘A stirring tale of female empowerment, full of vivid imagery and evocative settings’ Observer

A glorious, evocative read, ripe for a movie adaptation. Victorian girl power? You bet’ Apple Books

‘In this glorious novel both women and words take flight. Don’t miss it’ Annie Garthwaite, author of Cecily

‘I devoured The Gifts. A real gem’ Louise Hare, author of This Lovely City

‘A beautiful, riveting novel suffused with luminous magic’ Jenny Saint, Sunday Times bestselling author of Ariadne

‘I absolutely loved The Gifts. A fiercely feminist tale . . . Punchy, bold and glittering with brilliance’ Lizzie Pook, author of Moonlight and the Pearler’s Daughter

‘Extraordinary. For any who loved The Essex Serpent, this is one that will sing to your soul’ Jackie Morris, The Lost Words

Publisher Review

Haunting, thrilling, wonderful. I loved it. * Stacey Halls * Fierce and touching... a beautiful, riveting novel suffused with luminous magic against the grimy backdrop of 19th century London. Wild female power clashes with dark scientific ambition in this compelling story. * Jennifer Saint, Sunday Times bestselling author of Ariadne * An extraordinary weaving together of the lives of four women. One is an artist who loves the names of colours, another a botanist who loves the shapes of plants. One of its fascinations is the blend of myth and magic, city and country, urban and wild. There are threads that spin a yarn and make this book a page turning success. For any who loved The Essex Serpent, this is one that will sing to your soul. For myself, I found it to be a dream of a book, one that I could lose myself in and escape from these curious times we live in. There's a darkness to it also, but also a fierce light, passion. It is utterly absorbing. * Jackie Morris, The Lost Words * I devoured The Gifts, eager to find out the fate of its wonderfully drawn characters. A wonderful, atmospheric book that immersed me in the dirty streets of nineteenth century London and swept me away to the hills of Shropshire. A real gem. * Louise Hare, author of This Lovely City * From the moment the Thames gave up its astonishing secret, I was transfixed by this fantastical tale of winged women and their quest for liberation in the face of science turned into dark obsession. A deliciously intriguing mix of moral bankruptcy and resilience, with a captivating female friendship at its heart. * Sonia Velton, author of Blackberry and Wild Rose * An extraordinary novel-resonant, propulsive, and utterly absorbing. Once I'd picked it up, I truly couldn't put it down-I didn't want to leave Liz Hyder's vividly realised world, and I cannot wait to follow wherever she takes us next. * Katie Lowe, author of The Furies * Bewitching. Lovers of Neo-Victorian fiction will be spellbound by this tale, taking flight on the wings of Hyder's addictive words. * Essie Fox * I loved The Gifts. Brilliant storytelling, magical realism, historical fiction that discusses feminism, religion, art and motherhood. Shades of Angela Carter and fans of Elizabeth MacNeal will enjoy it too. * Kate Sawyer, author of The Stranding * Haunting, magical, wonderful. At once a dark cautionary tale of unchecked ambition, and a sparkling story of love, loyalty and friendship. * Joanne Burn, The Hemlock Cure * Full of rich historical detail, magic and romance, The Gifts is simply delightful. Engrossing and fresh and unusual in the best possible way, I really, truly adored it. * Kirsty Capes, author of CARELESS * Stunning. A compulsive page turning adventure packed with everything I love in a book. Intrigue, adventure, rich descriptions, and difficult women. * Ericka Waller * The Gifts instantly became one of my all time favourite books. It was everything I want in a novel: full, flawed characters, a hint of something magical, angst, the filth and strangeness of Victorian Britain, that ruthless consideration of the female body and who has agency over it. I just loved it. * Rebecca F. John * A beautiful and powerful feminist parable. * Mimi Thebo * A hugely satisfying read. Wonderfully imagined. Deep reading pleasure. So many people will love this book * Nicola Davies * A heartbreaking yet hugely hopeful story of the power of wings, both real and metaphorical. * Polly Crosby, author of The Illustrated Child *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible