Publication Date: 25/02/1999 ISBN: 9780140282399 Category:

The Game Of Kings

Dorothy Dunnett

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Publication Date: 25/02/1999 ISBN: 9780140282399 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£12.99

Quantity:

Description

Discover the compelling and addictive adventure from one of the nation’s favourite historical writers, perfect for fans of Game of Thrones

‘A brilliant storyteller, The Lymond Chronicles will keep you reading late into the night’ The Times Literary Supplement
________

‘I despised men who accepted their fate. I shaped mine twenty times and had it broken twenty times in my hands’

1547. After five years imprisonment and exile far from his homeland, Francis Crawford of Lymond – scholar, soldier, rebel, nobleman, outlaw – returns to Edinburgh.

But for many in an already divided Scotland, where conspiracies swarm around the infant Queen Mary, he is not welcome.

Lymond is wanted for treason and murder, and he is accompanied by a band of killers and ruffians who will only bring further violence and strife.

Is he back to foment rebellion?
Does he seek revenge on those who banished him?
Or has he returned to clear his name?

No one but the enigmatic Lymond himself knows the truth – and no one will discover it until he is ready . . .
________

‘A storyteller who could teach Scheherazade a thing or two about pace, suspense and imaginative invention’ New York Times

‘Melodrama of the most magnificent kind’ Guardian

VOTED ONE OF BRITAIN’S FAVOURITE HISTORICAL NOVELS

Publisher Review

Praise for Dorothy Dunnett * - * A storyteller who could teach Scheherazade a thing or two about pace, suspense and imaginative invention * New York Times * Marvellous, breathtaking * The Times * A masterpiece of historical fiction * Washington Post * One of the greatest tale-spinners since Dumas * Cleveland Plain Dealer * Lashings of excitement, colour and subtlety * The Times * Vivid, engaging, densely plotted - are almost certainly destined to be counted among the classics of popular fiction * New York Times *

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible