Publication Date: 13/08/2020 ISBN: 9780349424705 Category:

The Education of Ivy Edwards

Hannah Tovey

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publication Date: 13/08/2020 ISBN: 9780349424705 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

‘Funny, very frank, filthy . . . will delight fans of Fleabag’ Yorkshire Times

‘An absolute joy’ Daisy Buchanan, author of Insatiable

‘Raw, unapologetic and pretty damn relatable’ Heat

‘Gritty, surprising, honest’ Laura Jane Williams, author of Our Stop

*A No. 1 Bestseller in Dark Humorous Comedy on Kindle*

_____________________

Adult life is hard. Send help.

Ivy Edwards is thirty-one years old, funny, shameless, and a bit of a romantic.

She’s also currently trying not to cry in the office toilet.

Partly because she’s just run out of money for fags. A bit because her mum continues to annoy her. Definitely not because she’s just been dumped by her fiance.

With her London life in shambles and her family miles away in the Welsh valleys, Ivy doesn’t actually feel like she belongs anywhere.

At least, she has her friends – and a bottle of vodka.

Embarking on a journey of singlehood, Ivy is about to discover that sometimes, having your life fall apart can be surprisingly fun.

_____________________

Get ready for Ivy…

The Education of Ivy Edwards is perfect for fans of Dolly Alderton’s Everything I Know About Love, Holly Bourne’s How Do You Like Me Now?, Emer McLysaght’s Oh My God, What a Complete Aisling, and Phoebe Waller-Bridge’s Fleabag.

‘Bloody brilliant. Grab a copy and some vodka’ Melanie Blake, author of The Thunder Girls

‘Gritty, surprising, redemptive’ Laura Jane Willams

‘Smart, bittersweet and extremely funny . . . so perceptive and REAL’ Daisy Buchanan, author of How to Be a Grown Up

‘This book will make you laugh out loud one minute and have you reaching for the tissues the next’ Heat

‘Tovey hits that sweet spot of sharp dialogue and authentic characters that are well-rounded, real, and messy’ Abigail Mann, author of The Lonely Fajita

‘Like that trusted friend who’ll give you a ‘cwtch’ (Welsh hug), check your mascara and then take you to get hammered on vodka martinis. . . warm, witty and occasionally filthy . . . and full of heart’ Nicola Mostyn, author of The Gods of Love

‘Reminiscent of Laura and Tyler’s escapades in Emma Jane Unsworth’s Animals . . . gets into the nitty gritty of heartbreak’ Netgalley reviewer

‘Feel good and hilarious’ Netgalley reviewer

’31-year-old Ivy’s life is derailed dramatically when her fiance dumps her, with no warning, just 5 minutes after they’ve had sex. A feel good and hilarious look at breaking up, self-indulgence and self-discovery’ Girl Reads Books

‘I could really empathise with . . . the struggles of not belonging and trying to survive London when life has not gone to plan’ Netgalley reviewer

‘The Education of Ivy Edwards is a whirlwind of a read and proved to be a great distraction from the current climate. . . .Ivy’s mum might be my favourite character, she’s bonkers and I loved her!’ Eleanor Reads Books

‘A very enjoyable read’ Netgalley reviewer

‘Rich in dialogue . . . it’s a novel about realising that sometimes your greatest enemy is yourself’ Netgalley reviewer

Publisher Review

A warm, witty and occasionally filthy story of breaking up, breaking down and becoming a truer version of yourself. Quirky, astute and full of heart, like that trusted friend who'll give you a 'cwtch' (Welsh hug), check your mascara and then take you to get hammered on vodka martinis. - Nicola Mostyn, author of The Gods of Love One of the most accurate depictions I've come across about the tipping point that is your late twenties. 'Raw, unapologetic and pretty damn relatable . . . a brilliant debut' - Heat Gritty, surprising, redemptive, honest and confronting, there's an Ivy Edwards in all of us! Smart, bittersweet and extremely funny . . . so perceptive and REAL An absolute joy. . . reminds me of some of my all time favourites - Adults, Not Working, The To-Do List

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible