Publication Date: 08/11/2012 ISBN: 9781408836880 Category:

The Declaration

Gemma Malley

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publication Date: 08/11/2012 ISBN: 9781408836880 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£7.99

Quantity:

Description

Sixteen-year-old Anna should not have been born. It is the year 2140 and people can live for ever. No one wants another mouth to feed, so she lives in a Surplus Hall, where unwanted children go to learn valuable lessons . . . at least she wasn’t put down at birth.

One day, a new inmate arrives. Anna’s life is thrown into chaos. He says things about her parents and the Outside that couldn’t possibly be true . . . Or could they?

Thrilling, passionate and beautifully written, this dystopian novel is perfect for fans of The Hunger Games

Publisher Review

A haunting and suspenseful page-turner * Sunday Times Children's Book of the Week * 'Stunning, thought-provoking and a book that genuinely stays with you' * The Bookseller (Teenage Highlights) * A well-imagined and endlessly thought-provoking story * Telegraph * Poignant, thought-provoking ... Sharing the visionary quality of books such as 'The Handmaid's Tale' and 'How I Live Now', The Declaration is one of those rare books that changes the way you see the world. * Publishing News * Extremely chilling and, in places, quite harrowing * Books for Keeps *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible