Publication Date: 11/11/2010 ISBN: 9780753827109 Category:

The Coral Thief

Rebecca Stott

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Publication Date: 11/11/2010 ISBN: 9780753827109 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

A powerful and gripping historical thriller for fans of The Essex Serpernt and The Miniaturist.

‘Original and evocative … a mesmerising thriller’ Daily Telegraph
‘Full of twists and turns’ Scotsman
‘An enthralling exploration of revolutionary science in post-revolutionary France’ Guardian
‘A book of penetrating humanity and a vivid evocation of Paris’ Financial Times

Paris, 1815. Daniel Connor, a young medical student from Edinburgh, has just arrived in Paris to study anatomy at the Jardin des Plantes – only to realise that his letters of introduction and a gift of precious coral specimens, on which his tenure depends, have been stolen by the beautiful woman with whom he shared a stagecoach.

In the fervour and tumult of post revolutionary Paris, nothing is quite as it seems. In trying to recover his lost valuables, Daniel discovers that his beautiful adversary is in fact a philosopher-thief who lives in a shadowy world of outlaws and emigres. As Daniel embark on a passionate love affair with the Coral Thief, he is drawn to join her salon of thieves to execute one last breathtakingly bold robbery…

Publisher Review

A riveting read * SUNDAY BUSINESS POST, Ireland * An original and enthralling read. * BIG ISSUE IN THE NORTH * It makes for an entertaining narrative as Lucienne's band of well-spoken rogues duck and dive to avoid Jagot, the head of police. * GUARDIAN * This book, like the coral that Daniel was originally carrying, is a rare and fascinating specimen. * TIMES * Keenly researched, lovingly decorated, brimming with ideas but never short on character or charm -- Boyd Tonkin * INDEPENDENT * Original and evocative, this thriller set in 19th-century Paris deftly weaves together history and science. * DAILY TELEGRAPH * An utterly gripping, fascinating read. * SUGAR * Combines theories of evolution with the intrigue of an old-fashioned thriller...Clever and thought-provoking. * LONDON METRO *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible