Publication Date: 13/06/2019 ISBN: 9781786690586 Category:

The Canary Keeper

Clare Carson

Publisher: Head of Zeus
Publication Date: 13/06/2019 ISBN: 9781786690586 Category:
Hardback

£18.99

Quantity:

Description

‘Historical fiction at its very best’ ELLY GRIFFITHS.

A Times Historical Fiction Book of the Month.

They will see me hang for this.
London, 1855. In the grey mist of the early morning a body is dumped on the shore of the Thames by a boatman in a metal canoe. Talk soon spreads of the killer and his striking accomplice: a young widow in mourning dress.

Birdie Quinn’s sleeplessness led her to the river that morning. She has always been wilful, haughty, different… but is she a murderess?

To clear her name, she must retrace the dead man’s footsteps to Orkney and the far north. A dangerous journey for a woman alone, but one she must make to save her life.

This gripping, richly layered historical thriller is perfect for fans of The Familiars, The House Between Tides and The Confessions of Franny Langton.

‘Historical fiction at its very best. Mesmerising setting, fantastic characters and a fascinating insight into a ruthless trade’ ELLY GRIFFITHS.

‘What a joy! Reads like a classic nineteenth-century mystery with a twist, richly dark and full of gaslit menace’ LESLEY THOMSON.

‘Unearths startling truths about death and corruption in the transatlantic fur trade’ THE TIMES.

‘A top quality piece of historical fiction’ iSCOT MAGAZINE.

Publisher Review

'An almost classic 19th-century mystery with a twist, meaty, dark, full of gaslit menace and beautifully written ... An exhilarating story and marks Carson as an author to keep an eye on for the future' Crime Review Blog. 'Carson once again demonstrates her intuitive and precise approach to scene setting, and as we journey with Birdie to the remote reaches of Scotland, as she flees a trumped up murder charge ... Highly recommended' Raven Crime Reads. 'A gothic tale at its best' Historical Novel Society. 'What a joy. The Canary Keeper reads like a classic nineteenth-century mystery with a twist, richly dark and full of gaslit menace' Lesley Thomson. 'Gripping ... A top quality piece of historical fiction' iScotland. 'Carson's story comes into its own as the action moves to Scotland where Birdie begins to unearth startling truths about death and corruption in the transatlantic fur trade' Sunday Times. 'Historical fiction at its very best. Mesmerising setting, fantastic characters and a fascinating insight into a ruthless trade' Elly Griffiths.

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible