Publication Date: 07/03/2019 ISBN: 9781509806850 Category:

The Burning Chambers

Kate Mosse

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Publication Date: 07/03/2019 ISBN: 9781509806850 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

* The Sunday Times Number One Bestseller *

From the multi-million, number one bestselling author of Labyrinth and The Taxidermist’s Daughter, comes The Burning Chambers: a gripping story of love and betrayal, mysteries and secrets, conspiracies and divided loyalties, for fans of Ken Follett and Dan Brown.

Carcassonne 1562. Nineteen-year-old Minou Joubert receives an anonymous letter at her father’s bookshop. Sealed with a distinctive family crest, it contains just five words:
SHE KNOWS THAT YOU LIVE.

But before Minou can decipher the mysterious message, a chance encounter with a young Huguenot convert, Piet Reydon, changes her destiny forever. For Piet has a dangerous mission of his own, and he will need Minou’s help if he is to get out of La Cite alive . . .

A thrilling adventure, and a heart-breaking love story, The Burning Chambers is a historical novel of excitement, conspiracy and danger like no other . . .

Publisher Review

Oh, what a glorious novel. A masterly tour of history; a rapturous romance; and - best of all - a breathless thriller, alive with treachery, with danger, with atmosphere, with beauty. This book will transport you. Kate Mosse is that rarest of writers: a storyteller who breathes fresh life into vanished worlds -- A. J. Finn, author of The Woman in the Window A powerful storyteller with an abundant imagination * Daily Telegraph * Mosse does what good popular historical novelists do best - make the past enticingly otherworldly, while also claiming it as our own * Independent * First-rate cloak and dagger excitement-who knew the religious wars between Catholics and Huguenots in sixteenth century France could be so riveting to modern audiences? Kate Mosse captures the details of life in the Languedoc region of France, famed for its beauty, but hiding many secrets, in this masterful novel -- Margaret George, New York Times bestselling author of The Confessions of Young Nero This is historical fiction to devour. Nobody does it like Kate Mosse -- Anthony Horowitz Mosse is a master storyteller, balancing thrilling suspense with complex characters and a thoughtful exploration of a fascinating time in history. Her heroine Minou is a pleasure to root for: clever, loving, down-to-earth and courageous! -- Madeline Miller, author of The Song of Achilles and Circe The Burning Chambers is a tour de force, a compelling adventure that views the past with insight, compassion and humour, and reminds us of the variety of women's voices so often forgotten in the official accounts. * Observer * Transporting readers to 16th-century Languedoc where, against a backdrop of simmering sectarian tensions, 19-year-old Minou receives a mysterious message at her father's bookshop. Gripping, complex and intensely atmospheric. * Mail on Sunday * Impressively bold and ambitious, it features betrayals, broken friendship, family secrets and the horrors of fanaticism. Fans will love it * Daily Mail * An irresistible read * Prima * Rich with historical detail, as you'd expect from Mosse, but it's Minou, the fiery heroine, who makes this a must-read -- Book of the Month * Good Housekeeping * Mosse's narrative lyricism, beautifully drawn female characters and deft journey from the past to the present day are a cut above * Scotland on Sunday * Another of Mosse's immersive dramas, which takes you to the heart of the past -- Book of the Week * Grazia * Mosse's fans will relish this tale of secrets, love and treachery * The Times *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible