Publication Date: 14/06/2018 ISBN: 9781848126497 Category:

The Boy Who Grew Dragons (The Boy Who Grew Dragons 1)

Andy Shepherd, Sara Ogilvie

Publisher: Templar Publishing
Publication Date: 14/06/2018 ISBN: 9781848126497 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£6.99

Quantity:

Description

SHORTLISTED FOR THE WATERSTONES CHILDREN’S BOOK PRIZE 2019

LONGLISTED FOR THE BLUE PETER BOOK AWARDS 2019

‘Irresistible … a modern classic’ GUARDIAN

‘A warm-hearted debut … lovely, expressive, characterful’ SUNDAY TIMES

When Tomas discovers a strange old tree at the bottom of his grandad’s garden, he doesn’t think much of it. But he takes the funny fruit from the tree back into the house – and gets the shock and delight of his life when a tiny dragon hatches! The tree is a dragonfruit tree, and Tomas has got his very own dragon, Flicker …

Tomas soon finds out that life with Flicker is great fun, but also very … unpredictable. Yes, dragons are wonderful, but they also set fire to your toothbruth and leave your pants hanging from the TV aerial. Tomas has to learn how to look after Flicker – and quickly. And then something extraordinary happens – more dragonfruits appear on the tree. Tomas is officially growing dragons …

The first book in a sparky and utterly enchanting new series.

Publisher Review

A warm-hearted debut... lovely, expressive, characterful * Sunday Times * Irresistible... everything you want in a book for a newly independent reader - tender realism, honouring children's inner feelings and anarchic magic, both beautiful and regrettable. Sara Ogilvie's illustrations capture both enchantment and stench... A modern classic * The Guardian * [An] ingenious premise is brought to life with great skill and humour * The Scotsman * Hilarious, warm and full of magic... featuring delightful line drawings * The Metro * Imaginative and charming, The Boy Who Grew Dragons is a wonderfully whimsical story that kept me smiling the whole way through * Books for Topics * A warm-hearted and really fun story * Parents In Touch * A hilarious rip-roaring adventure. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and Cressida Cowell * South Wales Evening Post * Free readers will get stuck into the new series The Boy Who Grew Dragons by Andy Shepherd, about finding magic in the most ordinary of places * Angels and Urchins * an inspired concept, this is a funny and heartwarming tale of magic, family and friendship * Madge Reviews * This is a sumptuous start to a new series, bursting with energy and humour, yet tinged with the darker side of life too. There's a grumpy neighbour, aware but preoccupied parents, an eclectic group of friends, a strange gardening guide, nomenclature of dragon pets - so many facets all covered and explored. A perfect example of domesticity interrupted with a touch of magic. Dragon fruit will never look the same again! * Minerva Reads * Andy Shepherd's dragon-debut is an absolute delight and is just the very start to a series that I'm sure is going to be a roaring success. It's a series that - pardon the pun - I just want to drag-on and on and on! * The Reader Teacher * The Boy Who Grew Dragons is one of those magical children's books that warms the cockles of your heart no matter what age you might be. It's fast, it's funny, it makes you feel good, and for the brief time, it takes to read its reassuring innocence comforts you into believing that everything is right with the world. This is Andy Shepherd's first book and she knocks it out of the park from page one * Starburst Magazine * a spectacular start to a new series * The Sun * Shepherd delights in describing crazy situations, and the book's heartfelt message is one of care and friendship * Literary Review * Fantastic fire-breathing fun with wonderful illustrations by Sara Ogilvie, this is a lovely new series for anyone who ever wanted a pet dragon * WRD Magazine * A kind of Pete's Dragon with extra giggles, The Boy Who Grew Dragons takes on the rather hair-singeing challenges of finding that your grandad's garden has suddenly started sprouting fire-breathing mischief-makers and the illustrations by Sara Ogilvie really make it come alive * Waterstones Blog * charming [and] sublime * Event Magazine * My son and I really liked this. It's at heart a simple story, but has some rather charming elements. Tomas raises his baby dragon, keeping him a secret, though his little sister finds out and her precious little ways are rather adorable.Friends of course eventually become suspicious - especially when there's explosive dragon poo to be found in Tomas's school bag! One of our favourite scenes, I think. The scenes of baby Flicker causing mayhem are very much in line with the age group's humour * Nudge Book * A proper children's book... the humour and Sara Ogilvie's illustrations are just right * New Statesman * The story is a heartwarming account of one boy's struggle to look after a mythical creature whilst juggling the reality of life at school and at home with lots of laugh-out-loud funny moments and peppered with bold illusstrations that will keep young readers enthralled * The School Librarian * A wonderfully whimsical story that's fast, funny and full of feel-good moments * Creative Bloq * Funny and Imaginative * The Week Junior *

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible