Publication Date: 15/02/2024 ISBN: 9781787637245 Category:

The Book of Doors

Gareth Brown

Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
Publication Date: 15/02/2024 ISBN: 9781787637245 Category:
Hardback

£16.99

Quantity:

Description

‘Joyful, exuberant, and crackling with adventure.’ STUART TURTON

‘A clever and beautiful novel about the power of books.’ SUNYI DEAN

‘Full of magic, wonder and heart.’ ANITA FRANK

‘A magical, mesmerising adventure from the very first page.’ A. J. WEST

———————————-

Because some doors should never be opened.

New York bookseller Cassie Andrews is not sure what she’s doing with her life. She lives quietly, sharing an apartment with her best friend, Izzy. Then a favourite customer gives her an old book. Full of strange writing and mysterious drawings, at the very front there is a handwritten message:

This is the Book of Doors. Hold it in your hand, and any door is every door.

Cassie is about to discover that the Book of Doors is a special book – a magic book. A book that bestows extraordinary abilities on whoever possesses it. And she is about to learn that there are other magic books out there that can also do wondrous – or dreadful and terrifying – things.

Because where there is magic there is power and there are those who will stop at nothing to possess it.

Suddenly Cassie and Izzy are confronted by violence and danger, and the only person who can help them is Drummond Fox who has a secret library of magical books hidden in the shadows for safekeeping, a man fleeing his own demons. Because there is a nameless evil out there that is hunting them all . . .

Because this book is worth killing for.

Addictive, brilliantly written and utterly irresistible, The Book of Doors is the spell-binding, mind-bending, heart-pounding new adventure that is perfect for fans of The Binding, The Midnight Library and A Discovery of Witches . . .

———————————-

‘A stunning fever dream of a story.’ LEE CHILD

‘A beautiful, unputdownable love letter to books.’ BETH LEWIS

‘A real page-turner – incredibly ambitious and inventive.’ ROSIE ANDREWS

Publisher Review

Joyful, exuberant, and crackling with adventure. This book is as magical as those it celebrates. * STUART TURTON, author of The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle. * A stunning fever dream of a story that feels completely real - don't miss this fantastic thriller debut. -- LEE CHILD 'A real page-turner - incredibly ambitious and inventive, The Book of Doors is a great read.' -- ROSIE ANDREWS, author of The Leviathan A brilliant page-turner - a clever and beautiful novel about the power of books, and a tribute to those who champion them. -- SUNYI DEAN, author of The Book Eaters The Book of Doors by Gareth Brown is so good! A brilliant concept executed with mind-blowing precision, this intricately plotted book is breathtakingly clever, cinematic in scope and full of magic, wonder and heart. -- ANITA FRANK, author of The Good Liars

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible