Special
Price
Publication Date: 20/07/2021 ISBN: 9781529101072 Category:

The Book of Accidents

Chuck Wendig

Publisher: Cornerstone
Publication Date: 20/07/2021 ISBN: 9781529101072 Category:
Hardback

£15.29

Quantity:

Description

‘Move over King, Chuck Wendig is the new voice of modern American horror’ Adam Christopher

‘A rich, rewarding tale’ The Guardian
____________________________________________________________________________

A family returns to their hometown – and to the dark past that haunts them still – in this masterpiece of literary horror by the New York Times bestselling author of Wanderers

When Nate’s father dies, he leaves behind a final gift for his son: his childhood home. Married now, Nate decides to move in with his wife, Maddie, and their son, Oliver, seeking peace from the chaos of the city.

But it doesn’t take long before things get strange in the night and even stranger by day.

Because Nate was a child being abused by his father, and has never told his family. Because Maddie was a little girl who saw something she shouldn’t have. Because something sinister, something hungry, walks in the tunnels and the mountains and the coal mines of this town in rural Pennsylvania…

And now, what happened all those years ago is happening again, and this time, it is happening to Oliver. When he meets a strange boy with secrets of his own and a taste for dark magic, he has no idea that what comes next will put his family at the heart of a battle of good versus evil.
____________________________________________________________________________

‘The dread, the scope, the pacing, the turns-I haven’t felt all this so intensely since The Shining’ – Stephen Graham Jones

‘Universally horrifying and viscerally intimate, Wendig brilliantly uses The Book of Accidents to explore a painful truth: in the end, we all haunt ourselves’ – Kiersten White

Publisher Review

Wendig combines cosmic horror and human heroism with his continuing theme of the traumatic effect of abusive relationships handed down from father to son; this is a rich, rewarding tale. — Lisa Tuttle * The Guardian * The dread, the scope, the pacing, the turns-I haven’t felt all this so intensely since The Shining. * Stephen Graham Jones, New York Times bestselling author of The Only Good Indians * Move over King, Chuck Wendig is the new voice of modern American horror . . . a masterwork * Adam Christopher, author of Stranger Things: Darkness on the Edge of Town * Universally horrifying and viscerally intimate, Wendig brilliantly uses The Book of Accidents to explore a painful truth: in the end, we all haunt ourselves. * Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of And I Darken * What follows is a gruesome, compelling, bloody yarn complete with serial killer, mysterious landscape of shifting stones, abandoned mines and an interdimensional twist that turns the suspense up to 11 and beyond. Goodness prevails, but what a ride. * The Daily Mail * Unforgettable, terrifying dose of top-flight horror that hits on our most basic, core fears. The Book of Accidents chills you to the bone while still warming your heart. * Alex Segura, author of Star Wars Poe Dameron: Free Fall and Miami Midnight * A propulsive thriller that is as funny as it is frightening, clever as it is uncanny, tender as it is terrifying. * Alma Katsu, author of Red Widow and The Deep * In the tradition of Stephen King’s Dark Tower books, Wendig views the cosmic and terrifying through the lens of the domestic, anchoring his visions of the sublime in the grit of the familiar * John Langan, author of Children of the Fang and Other Genealogies * Sweeping yet intimate, multi-layered and big-hearted, this is a novel to sink deeply into * Dan Chaon, author of Ill Will *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible