Publication Date: 29/02/2024 ISBN: 9781035021802 Category:

The Antique Hunter’s Guide to Murder

C L Miller

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Publication Date: 29/02/2024 ISBN: 9781035021802 Category:
Hardback

£16.99

Quantity:

Description

‘A bold, bright and delightful jaunt back to the golden age of detective fiction’ – Janice Hallett, author of The Appeal

‘A delicious read – who could resist a treasure hunt with murder at its core?’ – SJ Bennett, author of The Windsor Knot

‘It’s a delight!’ – Katie Fforde, author of Island in the Sun

What antique would you kill for?
Freya, it’s down to you to finish what I started . . .

Freya Lockwood has avoided the quaint English village in which she grew up for the last 20 years. That is until news arrives that Arthur Crockleford, antiques dealer and Freya’s estranged mentor, has died – and the circumstances seem suspicious.

You will uncover an invitation, I implore you to attend . . .

But when a letter from Arthur is delivered, sent just days before his death, and an ordinary pine chest concealing Arthur’s journals are revealed, Freya finds herself sucked back into a life she’d sworn to leave behind.

But beware, trust no-one. Your life depends on it . . .

Joining forces with her eccentric Aunt Carole, Arthur’s staunch best friend, Freya follows both clues and her instincts to an old manor house for an ‘antiques enthusiasts weekend’. But not is all as it seems; the antiques are bad reproductions and the guests all have something to hide.

Can Freya and Carole solve the mystery and unearth the killer before they strike again? Find out in The Antique Hunter’s Guide to Murder, the unputdownable cosy crime caper from C L Miller.

***********

‘What a unique and very enjoyable take on the classic whodunnit!’ – Jo Silva, author of the Edge of the World Detective Agency series

‘Irresistible, immersive and completely unputdownable, think the Antiques Roadshow meets Miss Marple with a deliciously OTT cast of characters and twist after twist after twist.’ – Ellery Lloyd, author of The Club

‘What a treat! A unique and compelling debut by an outstanding author – I couldn’t stop turning the pages! The fabulously drawn characters leapt from the page and drew me into this engrossing murder mystery’ – Kathryn Croft, author of The Girl in Room 12

Publisher Review

It's a delicious read - packed with fascinating details in a picture-perfect setting. Who could resist a treasure hunt with murder at its core? * SJ Bennett * The perfect cosy crime read for antique hunters everywhere!' * Katherine Blake * Brilliantly fun, fast-paced mystery set against the murkier side of the antiques world - where everyone has a price and no one is who they say they are. Freya Lockwood for the new James Bond! * Jessica Bull * Irresistible, immersive and completely unputdownable, think the Antiques Roadshow meets Miss Marple with a deliciously OTT cast of characters and twist after twist after twist. * Ellery Lloyd * What a unique and very enjoyable take on the classic whodunnit! * Jo Silva * What a treat! A unique and compelling debut by an outstanding author - I couldn't stop turning the pages! The fabulously drawn characters leapt from the page and drew me into this engrossing murder mystery. * Kathryn Croft * A perfect indulgence and an absolute joy to read. It's as much about the antiques you might kill for as the joy of second chances, with enough eccentric characters pretending to be someone else to populate a Wodehouse novel. * Nicki Thornton * Every now and then a crime series lands that grabs the attention and holds it tight - this is one of those series. It's a rare jewel of a book with exceptional provenance and one of my most anticipated reads of 2024. * Kate Wells * Intrigue, enigma and murder in a quaint Suffolk village - antiques have never been so much fun. * Holly Hepburn * It's a delight! * Katie Fforde * An utterly charming mystery rich with detail and thrumming with intrigue. C.L. Miller's connection to the world of antiques shines through in her writing. * Robyn Harding * A fresh voice and a new take on the crime fiction genre, C.L Miller's debut is authentic, knowledgeable and intriguing. I have a feeling this one will be huge. * Mari Hannah * A charming tale for the whodunit lover - warm and wise. Go Freya! Go Auntie Carole! * Orlando Murrin * C.L. Miller delivers a fun, fascinating, and satisfying read in a giddy and compelling take on an old manor mystery featuring a reluctant detective-and her dazzling elderly aunt-struggling to find herself while tracking a killer. The Antique Hunters Guide to Murder combines charm and depth with two fantastic female leads who will deeply delight fans of Sue Grafton and Agatha Christie. * Amber Cowie * A whodunnit meets treasure hunt sprinkled with antiques - what's not to love? Polished to a gleam, there's not a speck of dust on this one. Page-turning, full of fascinating nuggets about the antiques world, and enormous fun to read. A real treat. * Eve Chase * One of my favourite reads of the summer. Part cosy crime, part international conspiracy thriller, it is brilliantly plotted, gripping until the end, with a main character readers will love. * Michelle Davies * It takes a lot of talent and skill to write both a pulse-pounding and laugh-out-loud mystery, and C.L Miller has brilliantly accomplished that. Set in the surprisingly cutthroat, dangerous world of antiques, this novel has it all: a cast of suspicious and utterly entertaining characters, a relatable heroine and her plucky sidekick, and tension that builds chapter by chapter. The Antique Hunter's Guide to Murder is delightful, sharp, and absolutely irresistible. A fascinating read! * Samantha Bailey * A work of art worthy of its objets d'art theme. Page-turning, adventurous, full of antiques and vivid characters. * Rachel Louise Driscoll * A precious gem of a book. I loved following Freya and Aunt Carole on this atmospheric and entertaining journey through the world of priceless artifacts and convincing fakes. * Jessa Maxwell * The Antique Hunter's Guide to Murder is a bold, bright and delightful jaunt back to the golden age of detective fiction, as the mysterious demise of an antiques dealer is investigated by his estranged colleague. But can Freya apply her skills as an antique 'hunter' to the hunt for a murderer? Expertly plotted and skilfully written, with suspicious characters, devious twists and evocative locations, this pacey page-turner has it all. A cracking debut from C.L.Miller! * Janice Hallett * A propulsive mystery, Miller's stand-out debut is an all consuming ride! Expertly paced with an indelible cast of characters The Antique Hunter's Guide to Murder is pure fun in book form. Fans of Richard Osman and Agatha Christie will be clamoring for book two! (I know I am!) * Katy Hays * A delightful read from start to finish, filled with highly entertaining characters and a terrific central mystery. Those who devoured Magpie Murders and The Thursday Murder Club should zoom this to the top of their reading lists. * BP Walter * Clever, funny and full of heart, this is cosy crime at its best. The perfect book for winter evenings... an absolute delight! * Awais Khan *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible