Publication Date: 20/09/2018 ISBN: 9781783526383 Category:

Surfboard

Dan Kieran

Publisher: Unbound
Publication Date: 20/09/2018 ISBN: 9781783526383 Category:
Hardback

£9.99

Quantity:

Description

The Surfboard is Dan s Kieran account of a week he spent in Cornwall building a seven-foot surfboard, even though he had never surfed in his life. Interspersed with the story of making the board the intricate craft he had to learn, and the clarity of mind that came with that challenge are reflections on the last six years; the obstacles, rewards and realisations he encountered while starting and then running a successful company. He went to Cornwall at a time when he felt he had reached the limit of his development as a person and as a leader: he had to find a way to push beyond his preconception of what he could do. This startlingly honest and original book is an indispensable guide to exceeding your own limitations and making great things for their own sake, out of love.

Publisher Review

Dan is the Sunday Times bestselling author of Crap Towns (the first viral internet phenomenon to find success as a book), The Idle Traveller (named travel book of the year by Germany's Die Zeit) and Three Men in a Float. Dan is the co-founder of Unbound and has given talks on creativity and entrepreneurship at the Do Lectures, Cambridge University and the European Parliament. For fans of Richard Sennett's The Craftsman, Robert Persig's Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, Peter Korn's Why We Make Things and Why It Matters.

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible