Publication Date: 22/06/2022 ISBN: 9780857308221 Category:

Stargazer

Laurie Petrou

Publisher: Oldcastle Books Ltd
Publication Date: 22/06/2022 ISBN: 9780857308221 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£9.99

Quantity:

Description

It’s a fine line between admiration and envy.

Diana Martin has lived her life in the shadow of her sadistic older brother. She quietly watches the family next door, enthralled by celebrity fashion designer Marianne Taylor and her feted daughter, Aurelle.

She wishes she were a ‘Taylor girl’.

By the summer of 1995, the two girls are at university together, bonded by a mutual desire to escape their wealthy families and personal tragedies and forge new identities.

They are closer than lovers, intoxicated by their own bond, falling into the hedonistic seduction of the woods and the water at a remote university that is more summer camp than campus.

But when burgeoning artist Diana has a chance at fame, cracks start to appear in their friendship. To what lengths is Diana willing to go to secure her own stardom?

Publisher Review

Stargazer is a dark and dreamlike journey into the obsession, envy and love between two young friends in the 90s. The tension simmers in this atmospheric lake-side setting until the crushing end. Laurie Petrou's writing is melodic and immersive. A delicious read! -- Ashley Audrain, New York Times bestselling author of The Push A lyrical, nuanced deep dive into female friendship and all of its messy complexities. Laurie Petrou writes with a sharp observational eye and lush, gorgeous prose. Stargazer is an emotional masterpiece, both gritty and incandescent at once -- Laurie Elizabeth Flynn, bestselling author of The Girls Are All So Nice Here A sinuous, captivating exploration of the mysterious depths of female friendship that had me hooked from its first pages. The vivid, finely wrought setting - a prestigious, remote college campus - was a delicious reminder of another favourite novel, Donna Tartt's The Secret History. Petrou's dreamlike, note-perfect prose simmers toward a shattering conclusion. This unforgettable novel from a truly talented novelist is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng -- Marissa Stapley, bestselling author of The Last Resort Stargazer entwines obsession, adulation and chilling female friendship into an enthralling, addictive read. Giving off strong The Secret History vibes, it drew me in from the first pages, and it'll make you want to be a 'Taylor girl', even though you know it's not a good idea -- Lisa Hall, bestselling author of Between You and Me Laurie Petrou has crafted a chilling look at the fine line between love and obsession, longing and desperation, ambition and mania. It's a look at the cusp of adulthood, when all things - beautiful and terrible - are possible. These women will haunt you -- Gin Phillips, author of The Well and The Mine

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible