Publication Date: 06/10/2020 ISBN: 9780349427973 Category:

Spoiler Alert

Olivia Dade

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publication Date: 06/10/2020 ISBN: 9780349427973 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

‘An absolute joy from the first page to the last’ Jen DeLuca

One of Bustle’s Best Books of 2020

Marcus has a secret. While he may be the star of the biggest show on TV, he’s also a prolific fan fiction writer. Through his stories, Marcus releases his frustrations with the show, but if anyone ever found out about his online persona, he’d be fired. Immediately.

April has secrets of her own. A hardcore fan of Marcus’s show, she’s long hidden her fanfic and cosplay hobby from her ‘real life’ – but not anymore. When she dares to post her latest costume creation on Twitter, her plus-size take goes viral. And when Marcus asks her out to spite her critics, truth officially becomes stranger than (fan) fiction . . .

On their date, Marcus quickly realises that he wants much more from April than a one-time publicity stunt. But with so many secrets between them, can they ever stop hiding, or will a match made in fandom never make it in real life?

With romance, amazing chemistry, fandom, and body positivity, Spoiler Alert is perfect for fans of Talia Hibbert and Abby Jimenez.

Praise for Olivia Dade:

‘Spoiler Alert is a delight. April and Marcus will melt your heart’ Jenny Holiday

‘A gentle, funny, and sexy romance that captivated me from the first page and kept me enthralled to the very (happy) end’ Mia Sosa

‘Olivia Dade’s warm and witty voice makes this book an absolute joy to read . . . I’m very much looking forward to whatever Dade writes next’ Lucy Parker

‘With richly drawn characters you’ll love to root for, Olivia Dade’s books are a gem of the genre – full of humour, heart and heat’ Kate Clayborn

‘Olivia Dade perfectly captures fandom, love, and acceptance in this incredible, delightful novel. I loved every page!’ Jessie Mihalik

‘Romance gold . . . a sparkling jolt of fangirling, body-positive swoons’ Entertainment Weekly

Publisher Review

With richly drawn characters you'll love to root for, Olivia Dade's books are a gem of the genre--full of humour, heart, and heat -- Kate Clayborn, author of Love Lettering Spoiler Alert is a delight. April and Marcus will melt your heart -- USA Today bestselling author Jenny Holiday Spoiler Alert is a gentle, funny, and sexy romance that captivated me from the first page and kept me enthralled to the very (happy) end. I adored these characters and every moment of their journey to love. Olivia Dade has crafted an unforgettable story, one that's earned an immediate spot on my comfort-reads shelf -- Mia Sosa, USA Today bestselling author of The Worst Best Man It's a path of self-discovery, healing and growth, punctuated by scorching chemistry, whip-smart dialogue and sidesplitting humour * Washington Post * "[A] clever, creative story . . . Dade handles both the fun and toxic dynamics of fandom and social media with insight and compassion. The result is nuanced, unflinching, and deeply romantic. Dade's fans and new readers alike will fall in love * Publishers Weekly (starred review) * With considerable empathy and a generous helping of snarky wit, Dade invites readers into the fascinating world of fan fiction while at the same time deftly addressing some serious topics - body image issues and dyslexia - within the context of a scorchingly sexy contemporary romance . . . a force to reckon with in the romance genre * Booklist (starred review) * The journey to self-acceptance is never easy, and Dade doesn't shy away from that, but she makes it just as beautiful and gentle as the love that blooms between Marcus and April . . . Geek out with this romantic homage to fan culture * Kirkus Reviews * Sweet, steamy, and every fanfic writer's dream. This romance is such a fun take on a fan/celebrity relationship with all sorts of body positivity * Book Riot * I was engrossed from page one of Spoiler Alert until the very happy, sigh-worthy ending. Olivia Dade is consistently one of my favourite authors. Her writing is warm and witty, frequently funny and often achingly poignant -- Lucy Parker, author of Act Like It As funny as it is sexy (and boy is it sexy), Spoiler Alert is a love letter to fandom in all its many forms, and was an absolute joy from the first page to the last. Reading it felt like a hug to the heart from someone who wants you to know that you are perfect and deserve to be loved exactly as you are -- Jen Deluca, author of Well Met Olivia Dade perfectly captures fandom, love, and acceptance in this incredible, delightful novel. I loved every page! -- Jessie Mihalik, author of Polaris Rising Olivia Dade celebrates geek culture and the love for all things fandom in Spoiler Alert. She had me laughing out loud and reaching for tissues, sometimes at the same time! -- Brina Starler, author of Anne of Manhattan With flawed, complex characters that leap straight off the page and into your heart, Spoiler Alert is a love letter to fiction, fandom and fatness. You want a book that's funny? A book that will make you cry because it's so relatable? A book that will make you swoon, fan your face during saucy scenes, and then some? And above all, a book that is a love letter to fandoms and fanfiction and to being a nerd? Well, look no further, my friends, because Spoiler Alert has got it all * The Nerd Daily * Whip smart, sexy, incredibly nerdy fun . . . it embraces fandom, unconditional love, and stepping fully into who you are. If you are in a reading slump, Spoiler Alert by Olivia Dade is a worthy cure * Culturess * Equal parts humorous, romantic and incisive, this is a pitch-perfect romance novel that is sure to draw scores of new readers to the genre * BookReporter * Romance gold . . . a sparkling jolt of fangirling, body-positive swoons * Entertainment Weekly * This book is a love letter to fandoms and is one of my favourite reads of the year * BuzzFeed * A love sonnet to fandom. A love sonnet to our bodies. I loved the tenderness and heat and humour and creativity -- Christina Lauren, New York Times bestselling author of The Unhoneymooners

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible